Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry Seminar - Fall 2021 (21:160:453 / 26:160:601): Oct. 13

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Huixin He's class - Fall 2021

Reaxys & Boolean Operators

Learning objectives:

Students will learn how to search Reaxys and utilize Boolean operators. Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. execute an efficient search in the Reaxys index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  2. use Boolean operators in order to perform more effective searches
  3. export results from the Reaxys index/database to EndNote online/basic/Web
  4. compare and contrast the SciFinder and Reaxys indexes/databases

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**

For additional information about Reaxys, including where to go for help or to access training, look at the box below.

Reaxys

Reaxys is a chemistry database that provides information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties. It also lists journal articles and other publications related to them. Reaxys includes substance property and reaction data, synthesis options, experimental procedures, patent information, and citations. Its data is derived from patents, journals, the Beilstein Handbook for Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, Chemical Patent Database, PubChem, and more. Reaxys is a great resource for researchers who are investigating organic synthesis or searching for data on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds. May also be referred to as Beilstein CrossFire Commander. Coverage dates: 1771-present

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.