Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry Seminar - Fall 2021 (21:160:453 / 26:160:601): Oct. 6

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Huixin He's class - Fall 2021

SciFinder & EndNote Web

Learning objectives:

Students will learn how to search a database (i.e., SciFinder) and save references to a citation management tool (i.e., EndNote Web). Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. execute an effective search in the SciFinder database in order to find articles about their topic
  2. identify the different methods to access the full-text of an article
  3. export results from the SciFinder database to EndNote online/basic/Web
  4. create citations following Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS) style using EndNote online/basic/Web

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**

For additional information about SciFinder, EndNote Web, and JACS style citations - including where to go for help or to access training - please see the boxes below.

Other Helpful Links

1. SciFinder

NOTE THAT IN ORDER TO USE SCIFINDER, YOU MUST FIRST *REGISTER* (Below is a link to instructions about how to register.)

The electronic version of the print publication "Chemical Abstracts," SciFinder comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc.  Search by research topic, author name, DOI, patent number, chemical name, chemical structure, chemical reaction, etc.  Coverage dates: 1907-present

Rutgers no longer has an 8-seat limit for SciFinder. We now have unlimited access!  However, the system is still currently set to disconnect any workstation that is idle for more than 10 minutes (i.e., no commands entered into the system for 10 minutes). So if you become immersed in reading a list of documents retrieved from one of your searches, you may be momentarily surprised when a 10 minute warning screen pops up and you are given the option of continuing or being automatically disconnected.


Note: The client version of SciFinder was discontinued on June 30, 2011.

3. EndNote & EndNote Web

EndNote is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find fulltext articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more.

EndNote basic / EndNote Web is a web-based version of EndNote designed to work in the cloud. Users who work from multiple computers, or need to work collaboratively may find EndNote basic very useful. EndNote and EndNote basic are designed to work in concert although each can be used independently. By using EndNote basic users can synchronize their libraries with EndNote desktop providing a secure backup and the ability to work on projects from any computer with an internet connection. Users can also share their libraries with colleagues or fellow students. A free EndNote basic account can be created from within EndNote or Web of Science, or at MyEndNoteWeb.com.

EndNote for iPad app is free for download from the Apple Store to all EndNote users. The app allows users to find, store, create, and share references anywhere and anytime. It also enables PDF annotations directly within the app.

For information on how to use EndNote, take a look at these resources:

4. JACS (Journal of the American Chemical Society) style

Examples of journal article citations from the paper include:

  (1) Mannix, A. J.; Zhou, X. F.; Kiraly, B.; Wood, J. D.; Alducin, D.; Myers, B. D.; Liu, X. L.; Fisher, B. L.; Santiago, U.; Guest, J. R.; Yacaman, M. J.; Ponce, A.; Oganov, A. R.; Hersam, M. C.; Guisinger, N. P. Synthesis of borophenes: Anisotropic, two-dimensional boron polymorphs. Science 2015, 350 (6267), 15131516.
  (2) Feng, B. J.; Zhang, J.; Zhong, Q.; Li, W. B.; Li, S.; Li, H.; Cheng, P.; Meng, S.; Chen, L.; Wu, K. H. Experimental realization of two-dimensional boron sheets. Nat. Chem. 2016, 8 (6), 563568.

* Important Note: if you are using the auto-generated EndNote Web JACS citations, be sure to abbreviate the journal titles per CASSI and make any other necessary modifications to adhere to the above examples *

 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.