Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English Composition: Fun Home (21:355:102): English Literature Research

This course guide was created specifically for Instructor Spencer Williams' Spring 2021 ENG 102 classes.

Ask-A-Librarian

There are several ways to seek help from a librarian:

Off-campus?

When attempting to access Rutgers-restricted sources off-campus, you will be prompted to LOGIN with your NetID and password

English Literature Research

Please see the boxes below for databases in which you may search for literary criticism, as well as for topics related to English literature.

Gale Literature Resource Center (LRC)

Gale Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a full-text database covering more than 124,000 authors.  In addition to critical analysis of authors and their works, biographies and bibliographies are also included.

 

 

Search Tips:


1) Perform an Advanced Search for:

  • Fun Home -- in Name of Work

AND

  • Bechdel -- in Person-By or About

2) After looking over the Literature Criticism results, consider looking at Reviews & News

 

3) Filter Your Results

  • by Subject...
    • Coming of age
    • Gay and lesbian studies
  • Search Within
    • repression
    • queer
    • death
    • grief
    • artifice

4) As you scroll through the Reviews & News, note the word counts and consider looking at those that are 1,000 words or more

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography includes 2 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.  It covers criticism and scholarship on literature from around the world.

 

Search Tips:


Depending on your topic, you may find searching by the following to be helpful:

·       "fun home" AND Bechdel AND coming of age

·         "fun home" AND Bechdel AND queer*

·       "fun home" AND Bechdel AND (death or grief)

·       "fun home" AND Bechdel AND artifice


Physical Sciences Librarian

Bonnie Fong's picture
Bonnie Fong
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library

185 University Ave

Newark, NJ 07102-1814

(973) 353-3811

Licensing Information

This guide is copyright-protected, but you are welcome to reuse it as per the license below (click for more details):

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.