Research Guides: Women and Health (10:832:415:01): Finding Articles

Scholarly vs Popular Literature

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database-results can be limited to scholarly, peer reviewed articles
PubMed
Social Sciences Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Multidisciplinary database that covers sociology, political science, public policy journals among other areas.
Google Scholar
PAIS Index
PAIS Index provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies. It is also included in the multidisciplinary database Social Sciences Premium Collection.
Policy File Index
Policy File Index is a collection of public policy research reports from over 350 think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, and advocacy groups.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It is also included in the multidisciplinary Social Sciences Premium Collection.
Women's Studies International
An index of feminist research and scholarship in women’s studies and is relevant to many disciplines.

Search Tips
Search Tips handout shows how to use boolean connectors AND/OR and truncation

Searching for an exact phrase-use "" quotation marks
Use the asterik (*) to search for the root word and any ending e.g., rac* retrieves race, racial; parent* retrieves parenting, parents, parental, etc.
Look at the subject headings on the full record for an on-target item-these can help you generate new keywords, concepts, etc.
Finding too many articles on a topic? Try searching for your keywords in the Title field of the item record.
Found an excellent article on your research question? Make sure you check the references to find more relevant articles...citation chaining!

New York Times-Digital
Wall Street Journal-Digital
Access World News
NJ Star Ledger and other local papers, as well as national and global publications.
Westlaw Campus Research
Current New York Times and Washington Post can be searched in this database, as well as many other news publications.
more...less...
To search for a specific title inWestlaw:
pr("new york times") and your additional keywords
pr("washington post") and your keywords

Example: pr("new york times") and flu pandemic
Factiva
The current Wall Street Journal is available through this database. New York Times and Washington Post are also accessible via Factiva. See this guide to using Factiva: https://libguides.rutgers.edu/factiva
more...less...
To search, enter rst=(code for the newspaper) and your search terms.
Codes: Washington Post-wp; Times-nytf; Wall Street Journal-j
Examples:
rst=wp and flu epidemic
rst=nytf and flu epidemic
rst=j and flu epidemic
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Washington Post (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

"maternal health" AND (rac* OR ethnic* OR minorit*)

"reproductive health" AND government policy AND united states

health disparities AND women

women AND health AND violence

women AND (addiction OR substance abuse)