Meet Your Librarian!
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Comedy in Film and Literature
This guide is intended to help you identify sources for Comedy in Film and Literature. You will find links to library databases where you can find scholarly articles, directions for finding and requesting books if you need to, and resources related to citing your sources in MLA format.
Introduction to Rutgers University Libraries
Finding Articles
The databases linked below are excellent places for you to search for peer-reviewed/scholarly articles.
In addition to these databases, Rutgers University Libraries provides QuickSearch, a single search portal designed to make finding sources easier.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Film & Television Literature IndexFilm & Television Literature Index is a database of all types of writing on film and television, including academic journals, industry and trade papers, news journalism, and popular magazines. It covers a wide range of topics, such as film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Finding Books
QuickSearch is the best place to search the library's collection of print and electronic books. Below you will find some examples of electronic books owned by Rutgers University Libraries that might be relevant to the work you are doing in this course.
Hold your cursor over the book title for more information.
Another Fine Mess: A History of American Film Comedy by ISBN: 9781556529511Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Comic Venus: Women and Comedy in American Silent Film by ISBN: 9780814341025Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Reeling with Laughter: American film comedies—from anarchy to mockumentary by ISBN: 9780810883673Publication Date: 2012-05-03
Citing Your Sources in MLA
Book Delivery
Print books owned by any Rutgers University library can be requested for pickup at any open library or for home delivery. When you locate a book you would like to have sent to you, you will need to log in using your Rutgers netID and password, click on the "Request Item" button, then scroll down to "Personal Delivery - Home Address."
For help requesting a book, call the Paul Robeson Library circulation desk at 856-225-2848.
All electronic books are available 24/7 from anywhere with your netID.