Smith Circulation Manual
Created by Ermira Mitre
Materials Available to Read
ExLibris Alma Knowledge Center-
ExLibris Alma Knowledge Center by The ExLibris Knowledge Center for Alma offers a wide range of information on using the Alma library system. The site is organized into several areas, each with a description and icon.Call Number: Z688.5.T42
-
ExLibris Knowledge Center The ExLibris Knowledge Center for Alma offers a wide range of information on using the Alma library system. The site is organized into several areas, each with a description and icon. results according to type, users can click on one of the icons such as Training, Product documentation above the results. The Community knowledge area lets users access articles contributed by others in the Alma community and contribute articles to the area. The Featured articles are organized according to most popular, highest rated, recently updated, and recently added. There are also tabs for How to, Training materials, and Enhancements. Some of these areas are limited; for example, Training only has a few listings.
-
Circulation, Interlibrary Loan, Patron Use, and Collection Maintenance
by
A Handbook for Library Management
Call Number: Z712.K59 1986ISBN: 0874364353Publication Date: 1985-11-01
-
"You deciphered me and now I am plain to read": How the Body Is a Book Abstract Is the body a book? Drawing on both bibliographic studies and theories of subjectivity, this paper argues that the body is a book by considering three technologies of book production: writing, reading, and circulation. I argue that the body is written through a reiterative process of reading and circulation, and that all three technologies are mutually constitutive. The body thus becomes a new mode of knowledge production that information science must consider.
-
Migration to a "Bookless Library" The Road to Going Bookless In the case of my library, the main impetus towards going bookless was the nature of my university. As more and more classes have migrated online in recent years—a trend hugely accelerated by the enforced closures during the early days of the COVID-19 pandemic—my university has become increasingly “campusless” and onsite classes increasingly rare. One consequence of this is that students and faculty are less and less tied to place, and gradually physical books and a physical library become less and less accessible as a practical matter, entailing questions of equity.
-
The Impact of COVID-19 on the Use of Library Resources and Services by International Students: A Case Study ABSTRACTThe purpose of this study was to investigate the impact of covid-19 onlibrary services as perceived by international students and scholars at KentState University, a medium-sized public research university in the mid-west, in the United States. A second general purpose was to increaseawareness of library resources and services among the international stu-dent population. The study used a self-reported questionnaire (Qualtricssurvey) to find out the use of library services and resources by inter-national students’pre-pandemic and during the pandemic. Using googleanalytics, the study also compared visits of the library website from pre-pandemic and during the pandemic by the general student population.The author also obtained statistics from various library departments tocompare pre-pandemic and pandemic usage. Additionally, informal inter-views were conducted by the author to find out librarians’perceptions ofhow Covid-19 impacted their services and policies. The survey resultsshowed a general lack of awareness of library resources and servicesamong the international student population both pre-pandemic and dur-ing the pandemic. The usage statistics and reports from the librariansrevealed a high impact of the pandemic on Interlibrary Loan (ILL), circula-tion, acquisitions and instruction services, but a modest/minimal impacton reference services and visits to the library website. Recommendationsinclude increased marketing efforts and outreach to the international stu-dent population and by extension to all students especially long-distancestudents or online-only students. The study also highlights the importanceof open access, consortia, and Institutional repositories and the role theyplay in enhancing equitable access to information. The study encourageslibraries to leverage new technologies that would improve services whilealso advocating for policies that would help bridge the digital divide
-
When One Library Door Closes, Another Virtual OneOpens: A Team Response to the Remote Library The Health Sciences Library (HSL) is a born digital library, with 98% of thecollection available online. The library also provides wellness activities for stu-dents, faculty and staff with activities such as weekly popcorn popping,monthly lunch and learn workshops, and regular stress-relief and fun activitiesthroughout the year. The library was a hub of activity at the beginning ofMarch 2020, with plans to help students prepare for their exams after springbreak in the form of a lunch and learn workshop for staff. Plans were also beingmade for“Stress-Less Summer”wellness events. In anticipation of a county-wide stay at home order on March 18, 2020, UCF transitioned to online classesand remote work. This required a speedy response from the library team,including checking out laptops to the College of Medicine faculty and staff whowould be working from home, curating telemedicine e-books for the library’scollection, and creating a COVID-19 resource LibGuide.Working remotely did not last two weeks, as was originally planned, andas of the writing of this article, the library is operating remotely, while work-ing on plans to safely return to campus for the spring semester. Over thepast months of being a remote library, almost every aspect of operations,from reference, to programming, to instruction, to collection developmenthas been impacted. However, being remote has also provided the opportunityto learn and grow, and helped the library team find new ways to serve users.Initial responseCirculating laptopsFortunately, the library had recently purchased 20 laptops that had justarrived but had not been formatted for circulation. The library staff, withthe help of the Systems Engineering team, quickly unboxed and formattedthe laptops, including installing the university’s licensed copies of softwarethat would be needed for remote work, such as Microsoft Office, Zoom,and Citrix Client. As news spread across the college about the pandemicand the possibility of the building being closed, faculty and staff quicklycame to the library to request a laptop. Nearly all of the library’s laptopswere checked out to faculty and staff within two days.COVID-19 LibGuideAnticipating library users’need for authoritative information on the cor-onavirus pandemic and COVID-19, the library’s Electronic Resources teamcreated a LibGuide with links to high quality resources.3Links were curated12T. GOTSCHALL ET AL.
-
Trust in Academic Libraries Some Possible Solutions Lack of trust can easily occur between library employees who don’t know each other. Opportunities to socialize across and within departments, such as potluck lunches or social events outside work, are important to developing trusting relationships and should be facilitated by library administration. Introverts may prefer to get to know their fellow employees through online collaboration platforms like Slack, but some form of personal connection between employees is critical. In organizations (like the places I worked previously) where co-workers know each other and are aware of the circumstances that their co-workers are experiencing outside of work, they can offer sympathy and a listening ear. These are workplaces where co-workers send flowers or a card when someone in their work family experiences a loss. As workplaces grow, that caring atmosphere can disappear unless proactive steps are taken.
-
ChatGPT Implications for academic libraries Research: ChatGPT can be used to spark ideas or simplify aspects of the research process. It can help brainstorm topics, generate lists of keywords, and provide summaries of works. Soon, you’ll be able to upload your own text into ChatGPT and ask it for an abstract. If ChatGPT can be connected to library discovery tools, it might also be able to create a bibliography of relevant resources on your topic. In the future, AI tools may serve as research assistants, conducting virtual experiments, analyzing data, copywriting and editing text, and generating citations. Reference: Like ChatGPT, librarians have been trained to learn what people mean based on the questions they ask. AI chatbots are already being used by libraries to answer basic reference questions and refer harder ones to librarians. ChatGPT is simply an extension of that current service. Librarians can assist researchers by providing tips in asking the right questions to get the best results. These tools also free up librarian time to focus on more complex research queries or tasks. Additionally, they provide 24/7 service, fulfilling a need librarians can’t always provide.
-
Keeping Up with SLOW LIBRARIANSHIP Slow Librarianship in Practice The evolving relationship between librarians and patrons is a process that requires time and patience to cultivate. Meredith Farkas, a vocal advocate for Slow Librarianship, echoes this sentiment. In a post on her blog Information Wants to Be Free, she articulates her stance on this approach, emphasizing the need for librarians and other information professionals to respect change while prioritizing the crucial role of the patron-librarian relationship. Farkas defines Slow Librarianship as "an antiracist, responsive, and values-driven practice that opposes neoliberal values."[2] She highlights how library workers build relationships by interpreting and meeting their patrons' needs, providing valuable services to their communities. This approach involves “slowing dow”' internally, focusing on learning and reflection, collaboration and solidarity, valuing all kinds of contributions, and supporting staff as whole people. Reflecting on the role of the librarian is essential for growth in the field of library services. Slow Librarianship requires self-reflection for those who want to develop a mindset that can analytically gauge current structures within the library. These reflective steps can be viewed in four steps.
-
Preparation is the Key to Success Manageable Techniques for Measuring Collections for Moving Conclusions For both Penn State Scranton and Penn State Brandywine, the planning completed prior to moves made the next steps easier. At Scranton, the calculations allowed for the development of a clear plan and map for the external movers to use when returning the collection to the newly renovated space. For Brandywine, the preparation allowed for a smooth shift of volumes by library employees. Using these calculations and preparation, we were also able to map different fill ratios for different parts of the collection and provided detailed instructions to movers about where to start certain sections of books when reshelving. In both cases, of course, we had some unexpected discoveries, misshelved items, unusual formats, and nonstandard shelving. With some math on your side, however, you can be prepared to adjust as needed.
-
Top trends in academic libraries A review of the trends and issues This article summarizes trending topics in academic librarianship from the past two years–a time of tremendous upheaval and change, including a global pandemic, difficult reflections concerning racial justice, and war between nation states. Rapid changes and uncertainty from these events have created a significant amount of shifts to academic libraries, higher education, and society in general. Such shifts have yielded new perspectives and innovations in how librarians approach delivering services, supporting student success, managing staff and physical spaces, embracing new technology, and managing data. This report attempts to provide a snapshot of developments worth noting.
-
Student Wellness and Academic Libraries: Case Studies and Activities for Promoting Health and Success Student Wellness and Academic Libraries is a valuable read about the topic, as it provides a wide overview of the current state of student wellness initiatives implemented by academic libraries. Composed of fourteen chapters, the book provides several case studies from academic libraries in Canada and the United States. Each chapter ends with an extensive bibliography and a list of further readings. Very helpful are some appendices that offer suggestions for events and outreach activities.
-
Supporting Student Wellness: De-Stressing Initiatives at Memorial University Libraries Academic libraries have always supported learning and research, but now they have a new and very essential role to play as part of a broader campus culture that promotes and fosters wellness. In addition to the traditional roles of providing reference and instructional support, they are uniquely positioned to offer services that may alleviate the anxiety and stress many students are experiencing.
-
Book Clubs as means of reducing anxiety. Book clubs tend to be a natural fit for public libraries and have long been used as means of bringing the communities together over their shared interest in literature. Librarians hosting book clubs provide an opportunity for readers to access new material, explore unfamiliar subject matter, and form a relationship with library staff and fellow users. Sustained engagement on this level typically makes users more comfortable, thus reducing library anxiety. Since book clubs are primarily a public library activity, little has been written about book clubs in academic libraries. Even less has been written about how book clubs can support related diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) efforts and how DEI can intersect with library anxiety and student’s sense of belonging in the library, as well as attempts to fill a gap in the literature. The report culminates in a list of recommendations for best practices for academic library book clubs, and offers ideas of how book clubs can be tailored for their unique populations.
-
Outreach Program- CHLA 2018 Conference Posters 2018
-
IMPACTS OF EDUCATIONAL INTERVENTIONS OF LIBRARIAN INSTRUCTION ON HEALTH INFORMATION SEEKING ATTITUDES AND BEHAVIORS IN AN EMPLOYEE WELLNESS PROGRAM With US adults spending over half their waking hours in the workplace [9] and the World Health Organization recognizing employee wellness programs as a best buy platform for non-communicable disease prevention and control [10], corporate wellness programs have great potential for the proliferation of health literacy concept awareness and skill development. Workplace wellness programs can include health risk assessments, educational sessions, exercise and weight loss motivated activities, nutrition counseling, health fairs, and disease targeting [11–16]. The promising synergies of combining the reach of existing workplace wellness programming with a health science librarian’s unique skills as health information professional, subject specialist, fact checker, and facilitator of health literacy skill development [17–19] are worth exploring.