Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Topics in Companion Animal Issues: Animals and Health: QuickSearch

Research guide for students of the class Topics in Companion Animal Issues: Animals and Health at SEBS.

QuickSearch provides access to the complete physical collections of the Rutgers Libraries and most, but not all, of its electronic resources. Try also the Advanced Search option for more sophisticated searches.

What is QuickSearch?

You can start your research with QuickSearch to find materials available from the Rutgers Libraries, including books, journals, articles, music, movies, and more. You will be prompted to sign in with your NetID to access Rutgers-restricted resources, save results and create lists, and request items.

TIP: Use QuickSearch to

  • locate the full text of an article that you have found somewhere else without access
  • find the bibliographic record of an article and request document delivery directly from the record (sign in and check the Expand My Search box for libraries outside Rutgers to display the Request button)
  • create a quick citation from the record by using the quotation symbol next to the article title
  • save the URL of an article by using the Permalink (permanent link) function

(a) Getting Started with QuickSearch

libraries-intro

Quick Search Quick Help

Find Articles

  • Start with QuickSearch, available through the Libraries website, which searches across multiple databases in a single interface.
  • Visit the QuickSearch Help page for more information about how to benefit from it. 
  • For help finding articles within specific databases, see instructions on how to build a search.
  • For help getting the full-text article, see your options.

Find eBooks

Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page

  • Enter your search term(s), you will get a list of results.
  • Use the left panel to narrow down to eBook.
  • Under ‘Resource Types” select Book.
  • Under “Limit to” select Available Online.
  • Select any title from the results list to view the complete details, including the link for online access.

See more tips on how to find an electronic book, including advanced database options.
Browse the latest eBooks acquired by the library.

Searching with QuickSearch: Time constraints

QuickSearch results are listed by relevance by default for your convenience. Use the filters on the left to narrow down your results. then you may want to look into Sorting by Date for the latest items.

TIP: Creation Date in the left panel will help to look at a particular time period

Saving Results with QuickSearch

It is easy to save that good resource, once you found it, by using one of the Share functions to print, email, or save the link

TIP: The Cite symbol " provides instant citation in APA style. 

TIP: More on saving records and searches

Finding full text with QuickSearch

The record will point you to the full text of the article or government document if available online. Books and book chapters may also be available electronically.

If Rutgers doesn't have access, you will be prompted to log in with your NetID to see other options, such as Request Delivery or E-ZBorrow. Follow the prompt and you will receive the resource in a short period.

Find out more about Interlibrary Loan and delivery services.

Searching with QuickSearch: Resource Types

When you enter your keywords in the search box, you will retrieve various types of resources:

  • Books and book chapters
  • Scholarly articles
  • Newspaper articles
  • Reference entries
  • Web sites
  • Audio and video recordings
  • Archival materials
  • Government documents

TIP: Use Resource Type on the left to narrow down to types you wish to see

TIP: Research is an iterative process. As your research topic evolves, you may want to come back and run more searches to your ideas and support your thoughts.

Searching with QuickSearch: Subject

Subject terms are "tags" used for a preferred term for a particular concept, area, discipline, etc. in various databases - basically, the way a database or catalog defines a topic.

Searching by subject (instead of searching for your term in the full text of articles) can be a quick and efficient way to find resources on your topic. Subject terms may vary from database to database.

TIP: Use the Subjects listed in the left panel for your search

TIP: Once you found a few good articles, look at the "subjects" they have as tags and incorporate those terms in your next search

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.