Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Physics Seminar - Fall 2020 (21:750:491 & 21:750:791): Sept. 25

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Claudiu Stan's classes - Fall 2020

Web of Science & EndNote Web

Learning objectives:

Students will learn how to search an index (i.e., Web of Science) and save references to a citation management tool (i.e., EndNote Web). Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. execute an effective search in the Web of Science index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  2. locate the full-text of a journal article, whether or not it is owned or subscribed to by Rutgers University Libraries
  3. export results from the Web of Science index/database to EndNote online/basic/Web
  4. create Phys. Rev. X style citations using EndNote online/basic/Web

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Library Research Session' module.**

1. Web of Science

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, among others, with coverage strongest in the sciences. This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1900-present

2. Flowchart for accessing full-text articles at Rutgers

Flowchart for accessing full-text articles at Rutgers

4. Phys. Rev. X style

* Important Note: if you are using the auto-generated EndNote Web Physical Reviews citations:

 Per Dr. Stan’s citation requirements for this course, remember to 'fix up' the auto-generated reference list by:

  1. including the article title,
  2. abbreviating the journal title per CASSI, and
  3. including a hyperlink for the latter part of the citation (i.e., journal title, volume number, page number, and date) with its doi link.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.