Research Guides: Writing for Business & the Professions Research Guide (ENG 355:303): Article Databases

This 90 second video from Cornell University can help you identify scholarly articles.

QuickSearch
Broad searching of books, journal articles, newspaper articles and much more.
Academic Search premier
This index covers most academic disciplines, however it will not meet all your needs. Be sure to search discipline-specific indexes.
Google Scholar
A Google search engine focused on scholarly articles, books, and book chapters Lacks the precision of subject specific databases. Helpful for citation tracing.
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON)
It delivers more than 50,000 video titles on issues worldwide spanning subject areas including Anthropology, Art & Design, Business, Criminal Justice, Diversity Studies, Education, Gender & Sexuality, Health Sciences, History, Literature & Language, Music & Performing Arts, Psychology & Counseling, Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences.

Business Source Premier
It covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration.
EconLit
EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 750 international economic journals. 1969 to present.
Factiva
Factiva is an archive of major global newspapers, magazines, reports, and other publications, focusing on business.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
It offers full-text coverage for more than 280 titles plus citation coverage for many more.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
It is a national online digital library sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The largest education database in the world,

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
Contains abstracts of more than 200,000 justice publications, including Federal, State and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, documents and unpublished research on a wide range of criminal justice topics.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides comprehensive coverage of criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present, and is updated quarterly.
Westlaw Campus Research
It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business.

CINAHL with Full Text
Provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
The premier resource for all aspects of food science including biotechnology, food safety, functional and novel foods, food additives, nutrition, and packaging.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
It is the primary source for drug information. It provides worldwide coverage of pharmacology, pharmacy and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

PsycInfo
Covers literature in psychology and related disciplines including: medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, medicine, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.

Animal Behavior Abstracts
Covers animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
BioOne
Focuses on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
CAB Abstracts
It a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences including: agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, and environmental sciences
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
The premier resource for all aspects of food science including biotechnology, food safety, functional and novel foods, food additives, nutrition, and packaging.
GreenFILE
Provides information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics covered include climate change, green buildings, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy sources and recycling.
ProQuest Agricultural Science Collection
Agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA.
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection
ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials.

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Social Work
This index is notable because it searches within books. A collection of searchable, full-text books published by Oxford University Press. Subdisciplines covered include children and families, communities and organizations, health and mental health, research and evaluation, and social policy.
Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Alcohol Studies Database
Covering biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use, as well as a growing number of records on other drug use/abuse.
PAIS Index
Coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy.

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Covers various fields related to computing, including software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, instructional technology, and the research and development communities involved in computing.
Compendex
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
The premier resource for all aspects of food science including biotechnology, food safety, functional and novel foods, food additives, nutrition, and packaging.
IEEE Explore
Covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering.

GenderWatch
Access to citations and full text resources on the topics of women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues.
The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
Collection documents feminist thought and initiative around the world through more than 4,000 monographs and 300 periodicals.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.