Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stakeholders are groups or individuals affected by the implications of a decision or intervention and that can directly or indirectly influence the decision or intervention and its consequences.
Who has a stake in your issue or problem? Who is effected? Who is interested in funding potential solutions? Who are the thought leaders and those already working on this problem or issue? This page has resources in two major categories: Funders and Populations Served or Impacted
Populations: Impacted or Served
The primary site for accessing Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, the 2020 Census, and more.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Fast and easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources, with over 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets available.
An annual snapshot of NJ's homeless population conducted by Monarch Housing Associates. As of August 2020, the 2020 report is posted.
New Jersey Data Book
From the Center for Government Services at Rutgers. Includes data on population, employment, education, taxation, crime, elections, etc. Can be searched at municipal, county, and or by congressional ore legislative districts. Free, but requires registration and log-in.
NJ Department of Education
Look at the DATA link on this page for a series of useful reports, including data on enrollment, certified and non-certified staff, Special Education, etc.
NJ School Performance Reports
Includes school district and state reports; New Jersey School Report Cards from 1994-95 to the most current; and Highly Qualified Teacher Survey Results. Best source for data on NJ schools and districts.
Rutgers Office of Institutional Research and Academic Planning
Offers institutional characteristics, reports and surveys conducted at or about Rutgers. The Fact Book can be particularly helpful.
An online data and mapping application with access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports
Uses an interactive mapping tool to provide access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study.
Statistical data from over 80,000 topics in areas such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology.
Statistical Abstract of the US
Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others
A multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system.
Funders: Government Resources
The official U.S. government website for people who make, receive, and manage federal awards. Formerly the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Environmental Protection Agency
Agency charged with defending human health and the environment.
United States Government clearing house for grants--a good starting place.
National Institute of Mental Health
The lead federal agency for research on mental disorders--part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The largest source of funding for medical research in the world. NIH has 27 separate institutes and centers, focusing on different aspects of health research. Rutgers received nearly $139,000,000 in research funding from NIH in FY 2015
National Science Foundation
Independent federal agency created "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" Funds a wide array of projects. In FY 2015, Rutgers received more than $55,000,000 in research support from NSF.
Small Business Administration
An independent agency of the federal government that help Americans start, build, and grow businesses. A source for loans and grants
United States Department of Education
Funding for a wide variety of projects--adult education, charter schools, early childhood education and much more.
Funders: Nonprofit Resources
Nonprofit projects are often funded through grants. Nearly all foundations and grant-funding organizations require that the grant be given to an organization, NOT an individual. You may need to find an organization that cares about your project and willing administer the grant. This service may involve administrative fees that should be included in a project budget. These are often referred to as indirect costs. See the "Price" tab for an example of Rutgers indirect costs for grant administration.
Foundation Directory Online
Foundation Directory Online is one of the more popular resources. Provides information on more than 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the US. Foundation entries include links to the 990 form filed with the Internal revenue service, providing fiscal data for the foundation, names of trustees and officers, application information, and a complete grants list.
Rutgers Office of Research & Sponsored Programs
Provides links to databases of organizations and their funding interests.
Searchable database of research funding opportunities available funding from federal, non-federal, and international sponsors in all disciplines.
Funders: Rutgers Patrons
If your proposal addresses a problem at Rutgers–parking, the bus system, the dining halls, the residence halls, student life, or academic programs–one of the administrative offices at the University might be your best patron.