Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Nursing EOF: Find Articles

Library guide to support the Nursing EOF program.

Best Bets

CINAHL (EBSCO) - Provides comprehensive coverage of both the practical and theoretical literature in nursing from 1981 to the present.  Includes indexing from over 500 nursing journals.  Updated weekly.

EBSCO, producer of CINAHL, maintains a YouTube channel with tutorials on using the databases.  See if there is something to answer your questions.  The tutorials are usually a few minutes in length.  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBC_CPlZqhatEZJN_oIldtg

A tutorial from EBSCO on using the advanced search option in CINAHL.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTvSwEZ1pP4&t=142s

Support site from EBSCO on maximizing the options offered by CINAHL.  https://connect.ebsco.com/s/topic/0TO1H000000HHf5WAG?language=en_US

 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) - A multi-disciplinary database with more than 12,200 peer-reviewed, indexed and abstracted journals.  More than 4,000 peer reviewed journal titles available in full-text.  For 150 journals, PDF backfiles extend to 1975. Updated daily

For a quick tutorial on how to search Academic Search Premier, please watch: Using Academic Search Premier (9:46)

 

Medline (OVID) – From the National Library of Medicine, indexes the content of 4,600 biomedical journals.  Includes coverage from 1950 to the present.   Nursing journal subset limits results to citations from 250 titles in nursing.  Nursing titles equivalent to former print index, International Nursing Index. . Updated daily

OVID provides a comprehensive tutorial on the use of Medline.  There are several sections so feel free to choose what you want from the left sidebar.  https://www.brainshark.com/wkovid/vu?pi=zGizVDdlez34XJz0&cmpid=Brainshark:MedlineIntro  

 

PsycINFO (OVID) – Provides citations and abstract for the scholarly literature in psychology from 1872 to the present.  Includes indexing from more than 2,000 journals in multiple languages.  Updated weekly.

OVID provides a comprehensive tutorial on the use of PsycINFO.  There are several sections so feel free to choose what you want from the left sidebar.  https://www.brainshark.com/wkovid/vu?pi=zGXzPBOtoz34XJz0&cmpid=Brainshark:PsycInfoOvidSP  (15:31)

 

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection ProQuest Social Sciences Collection abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals.  International in scope, content covers education, language and linguistics, sociology, and political science from 1871 to the present.  Updating varies.

This video from the University of Newcastle (UK) will get you started in using ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection: Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.