Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Nursing EOF: Virtual Class

Library guide to support the Nursing EOF program.

Intro: Evidence-Based Practice; Scholarly vs. Popular; Starting the Research/Writing Process

Welcome to our virtual class.  We are going to begin with the idea of why we use academic (scholarly) material for evidence-based practice with patients.  A big difference between high school and college work is the use of scholarly literature instead of, or in addition to, popular sources.  In patient care academic, research-based sources are necessary.  We will include helpful information about scholarly vs. popular articles and how to use library databases to pick a workable topic.  Here is an item for the first part of our class:

 

Why Academic Nursing Literature?  (video:  4:51)

More iinformation about scholarly sources under the EVALUATE SOURCES tab on this guide.

Producing a finished college-level research paper requires:

  • writing and organization,
  • researching useful sources, and
  • documenting everything you are going use. 

Sounds complicated, but with the databases we have available, both discovery and documentation of scholarly sources can be fairly easy.  For more ideas about documenting your sources, take a look at the AVOID PLAGIARISM tab on this guide.

Searching Databases; Finding Sources; Making a Folder or List

Before you begin searching, look at this video about Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT):

Building Search Strings, Part 1: Boolean Operators  (OSLIS)

Search tips for Academic Search Premier and other Ebscohost databases, including CINAHL:

Using Academic Search Premier

Advanced Searching on Ebscohost  (Ebsco)

Getting Started with CINAHL (video: 13.08)

CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial

Searching tips for ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection (University of Newcastle, UK)

Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Searching QuickSearch for books:

How to Look for a Book on a Topic/Subject   (Advanced Search)

Documenting;Reference List Directly in CINAHL

Use the folder or list  function in most databases to make a list of references or bibliography.

"Instant" MLA Bibliographies from Ebsco  --  You can use this procedure in EBSCO databases for APA, Harvard, or Chicago styles as well 

Note:  When you email references to yourself, the DOI's correctly leave out the Rutgers proxy information.

Subject Librarian (Newark)

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Interim Nursing Librarian
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton@rutgers.edu
Website

More Information

More on scholarly sources:  Click on the EVALUATE SOURCES tab.

More on the research process:  Click on the RESEARCH PROCESS tab.

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.