Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Subjects: The History of Experimenting on Humans

What They Reported

Historical Accounts

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
Search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and the Washington Post (1877-2005).
Searching across the historical newspapers is handy, but sometimes articles that appear in a search of an individual newspaper don't appear in a combined search. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included; use Factiva to find more recent articles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2005. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Philadelphia Inquirer
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Philadelphia Inquirer between 1860 and 2001. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 2010. Rutgers-restricted Access
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers, 1741-1922
Full text access to 1,500 newspapers published between 1741 and 1922. Rutgers-restricted Access
The Times Digital Archive (London, England)
Search and display the full image of articles published between 1785 and 2012. Rutgers-restricted Access

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers(including the New York Times), magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Access World News
Access to the full text of over 2200 U.S. and over 1200 international newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw Campus Research
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers.Rutgers-restricted Access

TV-News Search

TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Index to material in the collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive; includes access through Online Streaming Video to thousands of hours of NBC and CNN news broadcasts, as well as abstracts to nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks.  Rutgers-restricted Access

International News

There are some online publicly available international newspaper collections.

European Newspaper Archives Links to (mostly) free European newspaper archives. Includes British, Irish, Welsh, German, French, Dutch, and other collections. From Xooxle Answers.

International News: Historical Archives. Newspaper collections from Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the rest of the world excluding Europe and the U.S.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.