Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Historic Hinge: Techniques in Poetry (21:350:355): Newspapers

A research guide for Professor A. Van Jordan's The Historic Hinge: Techniques in Poetry course

Current Newspapers

Academic Search Premier [Rutgers Restricted]

Academic Search Premier provides full-text access to several major newspapers.

 

Access World News [Rutgers Restricted]

Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. 

 

Alternative Press Index [Rutgers Restricted]

Bibliographic coverage, with some full text, of more than 300 international journals, magazines, and newspapers offering an alternative, radical, or left perspective. Explicitly designed as a counterweight to what are seen as mainstream or conservative publications.

 

Factiva [Rutgers Restricted]

Factiva is a vast archive of the world's most important publications, reports and news, focusing on business.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers, Series 2-7, 1741-1922 [Rutgers Restricted]

Early American Newspapers is a fulltext database of over 1,500 newspapers published between 1741 and 1922. It includes the entire text of each issue, including advertisements, classified advertisements, editorials, letters to the editor, poetry, fiction and obituaries.

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search [Rutgers Restricted]

This combined database allows you to search across the four ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1993).

 

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers [Rutgers Restricted]

19th Century U.S. Newspapers is a full-text database of American newspapers published between 1800 and 1900.

 

African American Newspapers [Rutgers Restricted]

African-American Newspapers is a fulltext database of the following newspapers published by and for African-Americans:

  • Christian Recorder (Philadelphia: 1861-1902 [excluding 1892])
  • Colored American (New York: 1837-1841)
  • Douglass' Monthly (Rochester, NY: 1859-1863)
  • Frederick Douglass' Paper (Rochester, NY: 1851-1855)
  • Freedom's Journal (New York: 1827-1829)
  • National Era (Washington, D.C.: 1847-1860)
  • North Star (Rochester, NY: 1847-1851)
  • Provincial Freeman (Chatham, Ontario): 1854-1857)
  • Weekly Advocate (New York: 1837)

 

American Periodicals Series [Rutgers Restricted]

American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) provides the full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations, editiorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, etc., from more than 1,100 American magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1940. It includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Articles are available as digitized images and therefore preserve the original typography, graphics, and page layout. 

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.