Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

The Historic Hinge: Techniques in Poetry (21:350:355): Find Books, Articles, and Other Media

A research guide for Professor A. Van Jordan's The Historic Hinge: Techniques in Poetry course

Books

Search library catalog combining a subject terms (Germany History 20th Century or Germany History 1800-1933 or Germany History 1933-1945 or Germany History 1933-1945 Sources or World War 1939-1945 or World War 1939-1945 Personal Narratives German) and formats of primary sources (sources or archives or diaries or correspondence or speeches or interviews or personal narratives or oral history or newspapers or pictorial).

Can not locate the books/articles within Rutgers Libraries? Use EZborrow, UBorrow, and Interlibrary Loan / Article Delivery services.

Scholarly Articles

America: History & Life [Rutgers Restricted]

The America: History and Life database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Each year over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide are scanned for relevant articles and book/media reviews of special interest to historians of United States and Canadian history and related fields. 

 

Women's Studies International [Rutgers Restricted]

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research, includes

  • Women Studies Abstracts,
  • Women's Studies Bibliography Database,
  • Women's Studies Database,
  • Four files from the University of Wisconsin Women Studies Librarian (New Books on Women and FeminismWAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in EnglishWomen, Race and Ethnicity: a BibliographyThe History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology),
  • MEDLINE Subset on Women,
  • Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and
  • Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography

Historical Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted]

Historical Abstracts is a comprehensive bibliography for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those countries, see America: History and Life). 

 

JSTOR  [Rutgers Restricted]

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals.

Encyclopedias

American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia [Rutgers Restricted]
More than 250 entries on developments in the growing field of men’s studies including topics such as: arts, literature, and popular culture; body, health, and sexuality; class, ethnic, racial, and religious identities; concepts and theories; family and fatherhood; general history; icons and symbols; leisure and work; movements and organizations; people; and political and social issues.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History [Rutgers Restricted]
"A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community." 2nd edition.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration [Rutgers Restricted]
"Covers the full depth and breadth of American immigration history--from the arrival of the early ancestors of Native Americans more than ten millennia ago to a broad range of twenty-first century immigration issues." Addresses the diverse demographic, economic, legal, political, and social aspects of immigration.

Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West [Rutgers Restricted]
Examines the settlement of the American West including "coverage of movements of American Indians, African Americans, and the often-forgotten role of women in the West’s development." Electronic version of the 2 volume print resource.

Working Americans, 1880-2007 (Volume VIII: Immigrants) [Rutgers Restricted]
Examines the lives of first- and second-generation immigrants with a focus on their journey to America, their search for identity and the emotions they experienced in a new land. Electronic version of the print resource.

More Titles... 

Videos

American History in Video [Rutgers Restricted]

American History in Video allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Sources include PBS, WGBH Boston, The History Channel, and the National Archives. All of the films include full-text transcripts.

Images

ARTstor [Rutgers Restricted]

ARTstor is a digital image library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. A non-profit organization funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, ARTstor digitizes and provides high-quality images from numerous museums, academic institutions, and private foundations.

Maps

Social Explorer [Rutgers Restricted]

Social Explorer provides convenient access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Social Explorer's strength is its interactive mapping tool that allows data to be easily visualized, as well as the easy creation of data extracts.

 

PolicyMap [Rutgers Restricted]

PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries.

 

Digital Sanborn Maps: New Jersey [Rutgers Restricted]

This is a collection of 1237 large-scale maps of 265 New Jersey cities. The maps include information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and location of windows and doors. Textual information on the maps includes construction details, building use and ownership. Date coverage varies by city; 1884-early 1950's. 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.