Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Systematic Reviews in the Health Sciences: RBHS SR Services & Resources

This guide will introduce you to the Systematic Review process.

RBHS Systematic Review and Scoping Review Service

Systematic Review Service

Rutgers Biomedical Health Sciences (RBHS) Libraries offer a Systematic Review Service for Rutgers University students, staff and faculty. The 2011 Institute of Medicine study, Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews recommends that the systematic review team should  “work with a librarian or other information specialist trained in performing systematic reviews to plan the search strategy.”  The health sciences librarians are happy to partner with you as you begin this considerable process. Please visit the page Systematic Review Service | Rutgers University Libraries for more detailed information. If you have any question, please contact the RBHS Health Sciences Reference [rbhs_reference@libraries.rutgers.edu],

Librarian worksheet for Systematic Review

Before making an appointment for see a Librarian, please complete this worksheet to better define your search needs.

EndNote

EndNote is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find full text articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more. The Libraries are licensed to provide access to EndNote for students, faculty, and staff of all Rutgers University students, faculty and staff. For some useful information on using EndNote please see the Library guide at http://libguides.rutgers.edu/_endnote

EndNote can be downloaded at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/EndNote . You will need to Log in with your NetID to download the program.           ​

  • When installing EndNote, make sure you save the zipped file and then unzip it (extracting all). For tips on how to install it, please click here for instructions.
  • If you are a distance learner and are having difficulty downloading EndNote, please contact 972-972-9551 or 973-972-4358 in Newark, 732-235-7604 in New Brunswick for further instructions.

The Health Science Libraries offer workshops on using EndNote. You can signed up for the workshops at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/smith/library_workshops . EndNote offers very helpful, short, training videos on their YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/EndNoteTraining

Request Books or Articles

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that is provided by the Smith Library to obtain materials not in our collection in a timely manner. The Library also has a Pull & Copy Service; articles are retrieved from the Library’s collection and copied or scanned for the requestor for a nominal fee.

Qualified requestors may obtain books, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and photocopies of journal articles not available in the Smith Library. Materials may be requested from another Rutgers University campus library or from libraries throughout the United States.

Some requests may not be able to be filled. For example, copies of dissertations or audiovisuals may not be lent by their holding libraries. Most libraries will not lend items from their reference or reserve collections or complete volumes/issues of journals.

Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services allows you to request materials and articles not owned by the Rutgers University Libraries and articles from the Rutgers University Libraries Collections.

Books

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.