Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Residential Racial Segregation in the U.S.: Causes and Consequences: Finding Scholarly Articles

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. Includes the two primary political science/public policy databases, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS), as well as Proquest Criminal Justice and Proquest Political Science. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Sociological Abstracts 1963-
Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, including economic development, policy, planning, urban sociology, and welfare services. Also indexes books reviews, books, and book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.(Rutgers-restricted Access)
EconLit
Comprehensive bibliographic index for economic literature. Indexes journal, books, dissertations, working papers, and volumes of articles. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research
Index to articles, reports, papers, and monographs produced by the Federal Reserve research departments. Links to full text where available. Mid-1960s- .
IDEAS
The largest free Economics bibliographic database. Links to over 1,700,000 items, including almost 600,000 working papers.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Comprehensive index to journals, books, government publications, dissertations, and reports relating to criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access
Healthstar
Index to literature on health services and administration, including health insurance, health policy, health economics and financial management, and laws and regulations. Rutgers-restricted Access

Interested in education issues and policies?

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center
1966- The premier resource for educational research, the ERIC database contains more than one million abstracts covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. Rutgers-restricted Access
ProQuest Education Journals
Index to more than 900 scholarly journals in the field of Education, along with trade journals and magazines. Approximately 600 titles are available full-text. Rutgers-restricted Access

Interested in transportation issues and policies?

TLCat: The Transportation Libraries Catalog
Search multiple transportation library catalogs simultaneously via OCLC's FirstSearch. Records for books, journal articles, serials, and internet sites; includes holdings information. From the National Transportation Library.
TRANweb
Transportation Article File from Northwestern University's Transportation Library. Index to articles, conference papers, and other materials on transportation and law enforcement topics. 1976- .

Can't resist the urge to Google?

Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature including books, peer-reviewed articles, theses, preprints, and technical reports.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.