Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book & Media Catalog Search
Interlibrary Loan Services
Interlibrary loan services expand the resources available to the Rutgers community beyond those at the university. The Rutgers University Libraries maintain memberships in consortia and have special cooperative arrangements with libraries and other organizations to provide interlibrary loan services for Rutgers faculty, students, and staff.
Materials available on loan from other institutions may include books, newspapers, documents, periodical articles, dissertations, and similar materials that are needed locally for academic purposes. Electronic documents and photocopies received from other institutions are converted to PDF files and delivered electronically to user's desktops.
Interlibrary loan request forms are available under DELIVERY AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN on the Libraries' website. or by clicking on the [ILL] button in the Library Catalog. On the Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services page, login with your NetID and password.
Lear more about Interlibrary Loan Services here.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration [Rutgers Restricted]
"Covers the full depth and breadth of American immigration history--from the arrival of the early ancestors of Native Americans more than ten millennia ago to a broad range of twenty-first century immigration issues." Addresses the diverse demographic, economic, legal, political, and social aspects of immigration.
Encyclopedia of Puerto Rico
"Organized into 22 subject areas structured in 15 sections, which include essays and articles by academics, researchers, and subject matter experts. Each area includes a general overview and an increasing number of specialized articles of an expository and descriptive nature."
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society [Rutgers Restricted]
"Describes over a hundred racial and ethnic groups, with additional thematic essays discussing broad topics that cut across group boundaries and impact society at large. Electronic version of the 3 volume print resource."
Ethnic American Literature: An Encyclopedia for Students [Rutgers Restricted]
Seeks to offer a comprehensive yet concise introduction to ethnic authors, topics, texts and traditions with an emphasis on four major ethnic groups: Native American, Asian American, African American, and Latina/o.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America [Rutgers Restricted]
"Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section." Electronic version of the 6 volume 2nd edition of the print resource.
Latino American Cinema: an Encyclopedia of Movies, Stars, Concepts, and Trends [Rutgers Restricted]
"Most entries offer relatively compact definitions, cirtical discussions, overviews, and analyses of star artists, media productions, and historical moments." Also includes substantial foundational entries on topics such as genre, steretyoes, nationalism, and narrative.
Reference Books at Dana Library, 1st Floor
These reference books are good starting place to have a general overview of certain topics related to Latino studies. Useful resources are listed by research themes that can guide your to further search. These books are on the reference shelves, 1st floor of Dana Library. You are welcome to read them in library but you won't be able to check them out,
Latino and Latina Writers The "Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and a styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political concerns for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 17 sets comprising this series. To see listings of writers for any volume in this section, go to the "Scribner Writers Series section online at www.gale.com/scribners. This new title in the "Scribner Writers Series provides in-depth biographical and critical essays on more than 50 Latino/Latina writers. Covering well-known writers, such as Sandra Cisneros and Luis J. Rodriguez, as well as lesser-known but still significant authors, such as Tino Villanueva and Achy Obegas, this new set gives researchers detailed coverage of the,vibrant works of literature written by Cuban, Dominican, Chicano and Puerto Rican authors. In addition, seven thematic essays consider each writers works in relation to music, language, feminism and other key topics.
Call Number: PS153.H56L39 2004
Publication Date: 2003-11-03
The Hispanic Presence in North America (La Presencie Espanol en los Estados Unidos) by "A historical reference and modern almanac, this unique guide surveys the role of Spanish explorers, missionaries, and settlers in the United States, in addition to offering valuable information on programs and organizations having a special interest in contemporary Hispanic culture. The first section of the book provides an overview of the Spanish arrival and influence in the New World, with emphasis on early exploration and colonization; Spain's role in the Revolutionary War; and its legacy in American culture, economy, and law. Then, state-by-state, the text reveals in detail, not only the history of such states as Florida, Louisiana, Texas, New Mexico, and California where the early Spanish presence was particularly strong, but also the lesser-known exploits of the Spanish in New England, the mid-Atlantic states, Alaska, and Hawaii."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: E169.1.F375 1999
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Latino Chronology by From the first Latinos' arrival in pre-Columbian America to the Alamo, Santeria, Desi Arnaz, the exodus from Castro's Cuba, and the 2006 immigration rallies, this volume illuminates the most critical--and some not as well-known--events in Latino history. Chronological entries organized by subject explore categories such as Civil Rights and Protest, Arts & Music, Literature, Religion, Economics, and Legislation. Inclusive of all Latino subgroups, this accessible Chronology is the most current and concise reference source on the history of Latin Americans in the U.S., a must-read for students of Latino culture and American studies, past and present.
Call Number: E184.S75F543 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-30
The Columbia History of Latinos in the United States Since 1960 by Latinos are now the largest so-called minority group in the United States--the result of a growth trend that began in the mid-twentieth century--and the influence of Latin cultures on American life is reflected in everything from politics to education to mass cultural forms such as music and television. Yet very few volumes have attempted to analyze or provide a context for this dramatic historical development. The Columbia History of Latinos in the United States Since 1960 is among the few comprehensive histories of Latinos in America. This collaborative, interdisciplinary volume provides not only cutting-edge interpretations of recent Latino history, including essays on the six major immigrant groups (Mexicans, Cubans, Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Central Americans, and South Americans), but also insight into the major areas of contention and debate that characterize Latino scholarship in the early twenty-first century. This much-needed book offers a broad overview of this era of explosive demographic and cultural change by exploring the recent histories of all the major national and regional Latino subpopulations and reflecting on what these historical trends might mean for the future of both the United States and the other increasingly connected nations of the Western Hemisphere. While at one point it may have been considered feasible to explore the histories of national populations in isolation from one another, all of the contributors to this volume highlight the deep transnational ties and interconnections that bind different peoples across national and regional lines. Thus, each chapter on Latino national subpopulations explores the ambiguous and shifting boundaries that so loosely define them both in the United States and in their countries of origin. A multinational perspective on important political and cultural themes--such as Latino gender systems, religion, politics, expressive and artistic cultures, and interactions with the law--helps shape a realistic interpretation of the Latino experience in the United States.
Call Number: E184.S75C644 2004
Publication Date: 2004-07-20
Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History by "From the Alianza Hispano-Americana, a mutual aid society founded in Tucson, Arizona in 1894, to the Zoot Suit Riots in Los Angeles in 1943, this first-ever dictionary of important issues in the U.S. Latino struggle for civil rights defines a wide-ranging list of key terms. With over 922 entries on significant events, figures, laws, and other historical items, this ground-breaking reference work covers the fight for equality from the mid-nineteenth century to the present by the various Hispanic groups in the United States."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: E184.S75R69 2006
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Artists from Latin American Cultures by Latin Americans have long been relegated to the cultural background, obscured by the dominant European culture. This biographical dictionary profiles 75 artists from the United States and 13 nations of Central and South America and the Caribbean, including painters, sculptors, photographers, muralists, printmakers, installation artists, and performance artists. Some of their works recall pre-Columbian times; others confront the cultural imperialism of the U.S. over Latin America; and many explore how the dominant elements of culture can affect identities of class, gender, and sexuality. Profiled artists range from the renowned to the little-known: Frida Kahlo; Tina Modotti; Diego Rivera; Myrna Baez; Raquel Forner; Patrocino Barela; and many more. Color photographs are provided for many of the works. Each entry includes information about the artist's childhood, schooling, creative growth, and artistic styles and themes. Exemplary artworks and influences are described, along with a look at popular and critical responses. Supplemental features include artist cross references, a glossary of essential terms from the art world, and a number of vivid photos portraying the artists in their creative environments.
Call Number: N6502.5.C657 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
Hispanics in the United States by In 1980 the US government began to systematically collect data on Hispanics. By 2005 the Latino population of the United States had become the nation's largest minority and is projected to comprise about one-third of the total US population in 2050. Utilizing census data and other statistical source materials, this book examines the transformations in the demographic, social, and economic structures of Latino-Americans in the United States between 1980 and 2005. Unlike most other studies, this book presents data on transformations over time, rather than a static portrait of specific topics at particular moments. Latino-Americans are examined over this twenty-five year period in terms of their demographic structures, changing patterns of wealth and poverty, educational attainment, citizenship and voter participation, occupational structures, employment, and unemployment. The result is a detailed socioeconomic portrait by region and over time that indicates the basic patterns that have lead to the formation of a complex national minority group that has become central to US society.
Call Number: E184.S75B47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-09