Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Rowan IELP Level 4 (Kochanski): Home

Resources for the biography research project in Prof. Kochanski's class

Databases

Rowan University Library Databases (log in using your Rowan id from anywhere): 

American Woman's History Online: includes biographies of notable American women in all fields

Biography and Genealogy Master IndexIndex (alphabetical list) to biographical reference works.

Biography Reference Center: This database offers a comprehensive collection of more than 436,000 full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies

CREDO Reference: Use for basic and background information on your topic

Rutgers University Library Databases (access at the Robeson Library computer lab or classroom)

Contemporary AuthorsBrief biographical and bibliographical information on more than 130,000 authors from the United States and the rest of the world

Marquis Biographies Online: Brief biographies with life and career highlights

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography: Biographical dictionary for the United Kingdom and British Empire

 

LC call numbers for biographies

Use these call numbers to browse the stacks in Rowan or Rutgers Camden Libraries. Consult the librarian at the public library to out how biographies are classified at their library. 

Muhammad AliGV1132.A4

Neil ArmstrongTL789.85.A

Walt DisneyNC1766.U52D

Anne FrankDS135.N6F

Dr. Seuss (Theodore Seuss Geisel) : PS3513.E

Steve JobsQA76.2.J63

J.K. RowlingPR6068.O93Z

Babe RuthGV865.R

Diana, Princess of Wales (Diana Spencer)DA591.A45D

Harriet Tubman: E444.T8

Malala Yousafzai: LC233.Y

 

Websites: 

Biography: https://www.biography.com/people  A comprehensive website of historic and contemporary figures

The Biographical Dictionary: http://www.s9.com/ 

Women's History Month from the Library of Congress https://womenshistorymonth.gov/  Highlights the achievements of women throughout history

 

 
 

Reference Librarian, Liaison to Camden County College and Rowan University in Camden

Bart Everts's picture
Bart Everts
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
Office 122
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2849
Website

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.