Data | Statistics | Surveys - Journalism and Media Studies - Research Guides at Rutgers University

Media Ratings

Nielsen Top Ten
Current rankings for the top ten streaming videos, TV programs (with ratings), and video games.

comscore and Nielsen reports are very expensive because they are intended for industry use and/or customized research. Rutgers University Libraries do not have access to these reports. You may, however, be able to obtain summary reports of selected data using sources such as those listed below. Use the advanced search function and enter key terms like "nielsen" and "statistics."

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
A database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including discourse, linguistics, media studies, and rhetoric.
Broadcasting & Cable (B&C)
Includes ratings. Included in the CMMC database.
Academic Search Premier
Broad humanities and arts coverage.

For older data, consult these print resources.

Broadcasting & cable yearbook
Rutgers subscriptions ceased with 2009.
TV dimensions
Rutgers subscription ceased with 2013.

Box Office / Movies

Statista
Includes a variety of data and reports on movies, television, media, etc.
Box Office Mojo
Box Office Guru
Motion Picture Association of America
The Numbers: Where Data and the Movie Business Meet
WorldwideBoxoffice

Data Sources

American Community Survey | U.S. Census Bureau
Annual data from local surveys covering age, sex, race, family, income, health insurance, education, disabilities, where you work and how you commute, housing, and household budgets.
ARDA: The Association of Religion Data Archives
Extensive maps, surveys, and membership data from around the world.
Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps.
Eagleton Poll Archive
Public opinion polls of New Jersey beginning with 1971.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The largest repository of social science data in the world. Since 1962, the ICPSR, based at the University of Michigan, has collected and made available the datasets of many major government studies in their entirety, along with polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers.
International Telecommunication Union Statistics
Information and Communication Technology statistics for 200 economies and over 100 indicators, such as broadband, telephone, Internet use, mobile networks, household, and gender.
Pew Research Center
"A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world." They "conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
Polling the Nations
Compilation of the full-text of the questions and responses from thousands of national, state, and local surveys conducted since 1986.
Roper iPoll
A collection of public opinion data from polls conducted by major United States and international polling organizations. Polls cover a variety of topics, including social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and many more.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Handy access to US data.
World Development Indicators
A complete and authoritative collection of annual statistics on countries, regions, and economic groupings of the world, as collected and presented by the World Bank.
Data Services
A research guide that describes numeric data resources and services.