Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Citing Sources of Information: Writing for the Health Sciences: Style Formatting Resources

This LibGuide was designed to provide you with assistance in citing your sources when writing an academic paper.

Style Formats

AMA Citation Style Formatting

Long Island University

This site contains a series of color-coded style charts – helpful for quickly identifying parts of a citation.

AMA Style Tips

2 page "Tip Sheet" for AMA formating

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue University

Formatting and style examples.

APA Research Style Crib Sheets

Georgia Southern University

Contains a summary of rules for using APA style.

APA Reference Style Guide

Northern Michigan University

This is a great site; it has flash videos, downloadable PDF guides, and specific health sciences/nursing examples.

APA Sample Paper

Valencia Community College

This sample paper demonstrates the APA style format. It is available as a FLASHpaper (requires FLASH player) or as a PDF document.

APA Style

American Psychological Association

This is the “official” APA Web site.

APA Style Essentials

Vanguard University of Southern California

Provides a common core of elements of APA style.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References

American Psychological Association

Contains pages excerpted from a published style manual which deal specifically with citing electronic content.

Citation Guides and Style Manuals

University of Minnesota – Duluth Library

This site contains links to information on a variety of style guides.

Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

National Library of Medicine

A comprehensive guide to the NLM style format.

Duke Libraries:

Guide to Library Research : Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism

From Duke University's Libraries' "Guide to Library Research;" this site provides a good overview of correct methods for source citing, as well as an overview on plagiarism.

Format a Paper Using APA Guidelines

The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin – Madison

This resource takes a different focus on papers – appearance. It covers margins, spacing, indentations, etc.

A Guide for Writing Research Papers Based on Styles Recommended by the American Psychological Association

Capital Community College, Arthur C. Banks, Jr. Library

This guide consists of lots of narrative with embedded links, plus an FAQ, also with links.

The University of Minnesota Libraries Quickstudy:

Library Research Guide

This site contains a programmed, self-study guide to the use of the APA citation style.

MLA Formatting

University of Wisconsin – Madison, The Writing Center

Provides basic help in citing using the MLA style, plus a link to the MLA handbook/Web site

MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue University

More information from The Owl at Purdue on use of MLA format and examples.

MLA In-Text Parenthetical Citations

Duke University Libraries

The parenthetical citation method replaced the use of citational footnotes, e.g. use an author’s name in parenthesis at the end of a sentence in which the quoted/paraphrased material appears. The full bibliographic citation appears in a list at the end of the paper.

A Guide for Writing Research Papers Based on Modern Language Association (MLA) Documentation

Capital Community College, Arthur C. Banks, Jr. Library

This is a very detailed guide to research techniques. Links to subtopics are located on the left side of the page and the user may follow them to learn about the best approach to formatting a paper using the MLA style.

What is MLA Style?

Modern Language Association

The “official” MLA style site.

 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.