Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

CCC BIO 111 Information Literacy Assignment Guide (O'Shea): Getting Started

Resources to guide you in completing Dr. O'Shea's Information Literacy Assignment, Fall 2021

A. A review for a general audience

Rutgers databases (CCC students may access the Rutgers Library databases from the Robeson Library computer lab): 

  Access World News - Thousands of North American and international newspapers, plus hundreds of wire services and broadcast news transcripts.                

               

 CCC Databases (Be sure to sign up for a CCC Library card to access the CCC databases from home or on campus) 

US Newsstearm - Full text access to major national and regional newspapers including Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today, the Washington Post, and more.                            

 

Web Resources

The Guardian Science Weekly 

Newsweek        

B. Technical review - written for knowledgeable audiences

Rutgers databases

Scientific American - limited articles, may be accessed off campus 

Chemistry & Biology Online (access to 2015)

CCC Databases

Science Direct

Web based resources

Science.gov - Studies and publications from the Federal Government 

CDC Publications - Publications on a range of topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

C. Primary sources

* These are also referred to as scholarly or peer reviewed articles containing original research by experts in their field. 

Rutgers databases

Proquest Biological Sciences Collection - Contains scholarship on a wide range of topics in biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, zoology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Natural Science Collection - Scholarship and technical literature in agriculture, aquatic science, biology, earth & environmental sciences, food science, medicine, meteorology, pharmacology, and veterinary science.

CCC / open access Databases

Pubmed (open access) 

PLOS Biology (open access) 

CCC in Camden Librarian

Profile Photo
Bart Everts
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
Office 122
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-448-4830‬
Website

Print Resources

Journals, magazines, and newspapers: 

Rutgers University's print journal collection is archival, students can browse the journals which are located at the end of the basement stacks. 

Camden County College has a limited collection of print journals and popular magazines located at the library on the Blackwood campus. 

You can also browse magazines at the Camden County Public Library, located next to the Robeson Library on 5th Street. CCC students with a library card can also download magazines. There are several CC Library locations throughout Camden County. Residents of Cherry Hill, Collingswood, and Haddonfield have their own public library systems as well. 

Books: 

Biology books are located in the QH-QR section of both the Rutgers and CCC library, according to their Library of Congress classifications. 

You can also search for books at Rutgers using Quicksearch and at Camden County College using EasySearch

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.