Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Open Alcohol Studies Resources: Getting Started

This virtual toolkit and research guide was created specifically for the needs of participants of seminars and certificate programs hosted at the Center of Alcohol Studies, as well as other guest users.

Welcome!

Welcome to the  Alcohol Studies Open Access Resources site.  This virtual toolkit and research guide was created specifically for the needs of participants of seminars and certificate programs hosted at the Center of Alcohol Studies, as well as other guest users. 

Please note that the Center of Alcohol Studies Library in the Brinkley and Adele Smithers Building was closed in December 2016. The collection is now available in the Library of Science and Medicine and the Annex. For information on access, please contact Rutgers University Libraries.

About the Alcohol Collection at Rutgers

The Alcohol Studies Collection at Rutgers comes from the Center of Alcohol Studies Library, which, until its closure in December 2016, used to maintain one of the world’s largest and most comprehensive collections of books, media and other documents pertaining to the biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use and abuse.  All print resources are available in the Rutgers University Libraries.

While many of the electronic resources on substance abuse provided by Rutgers University Libraries can be only be accessed with a NetID, open-access resources are available to guest users.  

UPDATED! Getting Help from Rutgers Libraries

Need Help? - Chat

Chat: There are librarians online 10 a.m. - 10 p.m. every day of the week.

BEST for instant answers, brief interactions, short troubleshooting.
EXAMPLES: asking for quick help, locating or downloading full text of a known article, reporting or verifying an error, clarifying  a minor detail, help to decide what database to use, short literature search, etc.

Need Help? - Email

Email: Send questions to a team of librarians and library staff via email. Most questions get a response within 24 hours!

BEST for complex questions, troubleshooting that require access to borrowing records
EXAMPLES: questions on research, collections, and library sessions; troubleshooting requests such as on reserves and library accounts

Need Help? - Meet with a librarian

Direct help from a librarian: schedule a meeting with a subject specialist (currently available online)

BEST for complex questions, troubleshooting that require more time
EXAMPLES: discussing library instruction for your course, finding resources for your class

Need Help? - Research Guides

Research Guides: Our subject research guides will help you find a wealth of information on your topic

BEST for general overview, orientation, finding basic resources
EXAMPLES: identify databases for a topic, find resources for a paper, check citation styles

Need Help? - Find Library Materials

Find Library Materials The stuff everyone wants to know how to do!

BEST for finding, accessing, and requesting materials
EXAMPLES: articles, books, data & stats, course materials, and video

Need Help? - All in One

Get help from Rutgers University Libraries  -

All options on one page.

Alcohol Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Judit Ward
Contact:
Library Contact for SEBS/NJAES
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
848-445-3527
Website
Subjects: Alcohol Studies

Credits

This LibGuide was developed at the Center of Alcohol Studies Library in 2015 by graduate assistants Will Haggis and Maria Ortiz-Myers  under the supervision of Judit H. Ward and William Bejarano. Updates by Judit H. Ward.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.