Citation Formatting and Management Tools
- BibMeAn easy to use bibliography maker that can create citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian format.
- Citation BuilderGenerates bibliographic citations in MLA, APA, CSE, and Chicago style. From the North Carolina State University Libraries.
- Citavi FreeFree to use for up to 100 references per project. Requires download.
- DocsCiteGenerates suggested bibliographic citations in APA and MLA formats for government publications. From the Arizona State University Libraries.
- EasyBibFree MLA format automatic bibliography and citation maker. Other citation formats (e.g., APA and Turabian) require purchase.
- MendeleyAllows for collaboration between users and 1GB of free cloud storage. Requires download.
- RefWorks [Rutgers Restricted]A web-based research management tool that allows you to import references from many electronic databases and catalogs, include citations in your paper, build a bibliography using a variety of citation styles, and create a bibliography in a choice of formats. Free for Rutgers students.
- RefWorks LibGuideA collection of handouts and resources related to using RefWorks with the library resources at Rutgers University.
- Son of Citation MachineGenerates bibliographic citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian format based on information you enter into a web form.
- ZoteroAn add-on for the Firefox browser that allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources.
- Zotero LibGuideContains examples of how to use Zotero with some of the library resources at Rutgers University.
APA Format
- APA StyleIncludes supplemental material for the sixth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, free tutorials on learning APA style, and related resources.
- APA StyleProvides current information about resources for APA style. Part of the RU Libraries Psychology/Behavioral Sciences Research Guide.
- APA Style Guide to Electronic References [Rutgers Restricted]A revised and updated version of section 4.16, pages 268-281, of the fifth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
- Cite SourcePresents citation styles from The Chicago Manual of Style, the American Sociological Association Style Guide, the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, The ACS Style Guide, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), and the APSA Style Manual for Political Science. From the Trinity College Library.
- Citing SourcesInstructions for using MLA (Modern Languages Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago, ASA (American Sociological Association), or Turabian styles to cite standard and electronic sources. Also includes tips on using sources in a paper and creating an annotated bibliography. From the Coates Library at Trinity University.
- OWL: Purdue Online Writing LabProvides a section "Research and Citation" that covers citation format information for the Chicago Manual of Style, MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, and Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Research and Documentation OnlineGuidelines for documenting print and online sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences. Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker. Includes samples of MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE style.
- Style Guides for Graduate Research Papers and ThesesAn extensive collection of links to style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, as well as discipline specific guides. From the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries.
- Writer's Handbook: Citing References in Your PaperInformation on quoting and paraphrasing sources and using numbered references, as well as APSA (American Political Science Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago/Turabian, CBE (Council of Biology Editors), and MLA (Modern Language Association) citation styles. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
CSE (formerly CBE) Format
- Council of Science Editors (CSE) Style GuideSample citations based on Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (7th edition, 2006). From the Ohio State University Libraries.
- Research and Documentation OnlineGuidelines for documenting print and online sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences. Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker. Includes samples of MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE style.
- Writer's Handbook: Citing References in Your PaperInformation on quoting and paraphrasing sources and using numbered references, as well as APSA (American Political Science Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago/Turabian, CBE (Council of Biology Editors), and MLA (Modern Language Association) citation styles. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
Chicago and Turabian Format
- Chicago Manual of StyleThe Q & A section "interprets the Manual’s recommendations and uncoils its intricacies." The Tools section includes a quick guide to citation styles and related materials such as information on manuscript preparation. The Manual itself is only available with a subscription.
- Cite SourcePresents citation styles from The Chicago Manual of Style, the American Sociological Association Style Guide, the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, The ACS Style Guide, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), and the APSA Style Manual for Political Science. From the Trinity College Library.
- Citing SourcesInstructions for using MLA (Modern Languages Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago, ASA (American Sociological Association), or Turabian styles to cite standard and electronic sources. Also includes tips on using sources in a paper and creating an annotated bibliography. From the Coates Library at Trinity University.
- OWL: Purdue Online Writing LabProvides a section "Research and Citation" that covers citation format information for the Chicago Manual of Style, MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, and Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Research and Documentation OnlineGuidelines for documenting print and online sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences. Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker. Includes samples of MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE style.
- Style Guides for Graduate Research Papers and ThesesAn extensive collection of links to style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, as well as discipline specific guides. From the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries.
Electronic Resources Formats
- APA Style Guide to Electronic References [Rutgers Restricted]A revised and updated version of section 4.16, pages 268-281, of the fifth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
- Audiovisual Citation GuidelinesCovers film; television programmes; radio programmes; audio recordings; DVD extras; clips; trailers; adverts; idents; non-broadcast, amateur and archive material; podcasts; vodcasts; and games. From the British Universities Film & Video Council.
- Cite SourcePresents citation styles from The Chicago Manual of Style, the American Sociological Association Style Guide, the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, The ACS Style Guide, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), and the APSA Style Manual for Political Science. From the Trinity College Library.
- Citing Electronic InformationThe Internet Public Library's collection of links to online style guides for citing information from the Internet.
- Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (2nd ed.)Standards for citing published print material; unpublished material; audio and video; CD-ROM, DVD, or disk; and material on the Internet.
- Citing SourcesInstructions for using MLA (Modern Languages Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago, ASA (American Sociological Association), or Turabian styles to cite standard and electronic sources. Also includes tips on using sources in a paper and creating an annotated bibliography. From the Coates Library at Trinity University.
- Research and Documentation OnlineGuidelines for documenting print and online sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences. Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker. Includes samples of MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE style.
Government Publications Formats
- Brief Guide to Citing Government PublicationsBased on The Complete Guide to Citing Government Documents: A Manual for Writers & Librarians (1984), this site gives examples of citation formats for various types of government publications.
- Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA (Modern Language Association) StyleSample citations for various types of U.S., international, state, and local documents. From the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries.
- Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (2nd ed.)Standards for citing published print material; unpublished material; audio and video; CD-ROM, DVD, or disk; and material on the Internet.
- Citing Records in the National Archives of the United StatesProvides information on citing various types of Federal records. General Information Leaflet Number 17.
- Introduction to Basic Legal CitationExplains and provides of examples of how to cite legal resources, with references to The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. From the Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School.
MLA Format
- Cite SourcePresents citation styles from The Chicago Manual of Style, the American Sociological Association Style Guide, the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, The ACS Style Guide, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), and the APSA Style Manual for Political Science. From the Trinity College Library.
- Citing Government Information Sources Using MLA (Modern Language Association) StyleSample citations for various types of U.S., international, state, and local documents. From the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries.
- Citing SourcesInstructions for using MLA (Modern Languages Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago, ASA (American Sociological Association), or Turabian styles to cite standard and electronic sources. Also includes tips on using sources in a paper and creating an annotated bibliography. From the Coates Library at Trinity University.
- Frequently asked questions about the MLA Style ManualA short list of FAQs from the Modern Language Association.
- MLA Citation PageLinks, examples, and other information about using Modern Language Association citation style.
- OWL: Purdue Online Writing LabProvides a section "Research and Citation" that covers citation format information for the Chicago Manual of Style, MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, and Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Research and Documentation OnlineGuidelines for documenting print and online sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences. Based on the book Research and Documentation in the Electronic Age by Diana Hacker. Includes samples of MLA, APA, Chicago, and CSE style.
- Style Guides for Graduate Research Papers and ThesesAn extensive collection of links to style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, as well as discipline specific guides. From the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries.
- Writer's Handbook: Citing References in Your PaperInformation on quoting and paraphrasing sources and using numbered references, as well as APSA (American Political Science Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago/Turabian, CBE (Council of Biology Editors), and MLA (Modern Language Association) citation styles. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
Other Styles
- Audiovisual Citation GuidelinesCovers film; television programmes; radio programmes; audio recordings; DVD extras; clips; trailers; adverts; idents; non-broadcast, amateur and archive material; podcasts; vodcasts; and games. From the British Universities Film & Video Council.
- Cite SourcePresents citation styles from The Chicago Manual of Style, the American Sociological Association Style Guide, the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, The ACS Style Guide, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA), and the APSA Style Manual for Political Science. From the Trinity College Library.
- Citing Electronic InformationThe Internet Public Library's collection of links to online style guides for citing information from the Internet.
- Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (2nd ed.)Standards for citing published print material; unpublished material; audio and video; CD-ROM, DVD, or disk; and material on the Internet.
- Citing SourcesInstructions for using MLA (Modern Languages Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago, ASA (American Sociological Association), or Turabian styles to cite standard and electronic sources. Also includes tips on using sources in a paper and creating an annotated bibliography. From the Coates Library at Trinity University.
- Comic Art in Scholarly Writing: A Citation GuideA guide to citing comic books, comic strips, editorial cartoons, and graphic novels. From the Popular Culture Association.
- How to Cite Film, Video, and Online MediaTips for citing media in a bibliography. From the Moffitt Library at UC Berkeley.
- Introduction to Basic Legal CitationExplains and provides of examples of how to cite legal resources, with references to The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. From the Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School.
- Style Guides for Graduate Research Papers and ThesesAn extensive collection of links to style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, as well as discipline specific guides. From the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries.
- Writer's Handbook: Citing References in Your PaperInformation on quoting and paraphrasing sources and using numbered references, as well as APSA (American Political Science Association), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago/Turabian, CBE (Council of Biology Editors), and MLA (Modern Language Association) citation styles. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
Print Resources from the Library Catalog
For additional resources, including previous editions of the titles below, use the Library Catalog to search for records that contain the SUBJECT keywords report writing and handbooks -- research and handbooks -- or style manuals.
The Bluebook : a Uniform System of Citation
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
Publication Date: various
The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 9780226823362
Publication Date: 2007
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 9781603290241
Publication Date: 2009
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 9780873522977
Publication Date: 2008
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 1433805596
Publication Date: 2009
Scientific Style and Format: the CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 097796650X
Publication Date: 2006
Style Guide
Call Number: Click on the title to check location and availability
ISBN: 0912764309
Publication Date: c2007
Featured Resource
Stephanie Bartz
Contact Info Archibald S. Alexander Library Rutgers, The State University 169 College Ave. New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163 Phone: 848-932-6113 FAX: 732-932-1101 sbartz@rci.rutgers.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
