Skip to main content

History Perspectives: America in the Great Depression: Home

This guide was designed to assist students in Dr. Golden's course on the Great Depression

Three Primary Sources

The three primary source to use in the class are:

The New York Times

iPoll (to find public opinion polls)

Farm Security Administration photos at the Library of Congress

Reference Sources

New Day / New Deal:  A Bibliography of the Great American Depression, 1929-1941 / REF E 784 K95
American Decades, 1930-1939 / REF E 169.12 A419 1994
Almanacs of American Life:  Modern America:  1914-1945 / REF E 766 G67 1995
Franklin D. Roosevelt:  His Life and Times/ REF E 807 F69 1985
Eleanor Roosevelt Encyclopedia / REF E 807.1 R4 2001
Herbert Hoover:  A Bibliography / REF E 802 O27 1993
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture / REF E 169.1 S764 2000
Encyclopedia of American Social History / REF HN 57 E58 1993
American Diaries / REF CT 214 A74
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression (online)

Finding Books

The library catalog will help you locate books relating to your topics.  Some of the relevant subject headings are:

Subject headings:
     Depressions, 1929
     Dust Bowl Era, 1931-1939
     Stock Market Crash, 1929

Finding Articles

These databases will help you find primary and secondary articles and other resources relating to the Great Depression

 

America:  History & Life
Hathi Trust
JSTOR (older academic journals, full text)
PAIS (public policy articles)
PsycInfo
Sociological Abstracts

American Periodical Series (full text)
Humanities Index Retrospective
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Social Science Index Retrospective

New York Times
Washington Post

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries (full text)
Historical Statistics of the United States

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 (congressional reports, journals, and related materials)
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-1979




Subject Guide

Julie Still
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library

Rutgers University, Camden


856 225-2846