Skip to main content

Urban Politics and Policy: State of the Cities

New Jersey Cities

Urban Fiscal Health: How Do New Jersey Cities Compare to Other American Cities?
Gerald Miller, Joseph C. Cornwall Center for Metropolitan Studies, Rutgers University-Newark Campus, Oct 2001. Compares public financial data for Newark and Jersey City to similar central cities: Akron, Baltimore, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Pittsburg, Rochester, Toledo and Yonkers.
A Comparative E-Government Analysis of New Jersey's 10 Largest Municipalities.
Marc Holzer and James Melitski. Joseph C. Cornwall Center for Metropolitan Studies, Rutgers University-Newark Campus, June 2003.
Newark in Focus: A Profile from Census 2000. Part 1. Part 2.
Washington, D.C., Brookings Institution Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy, 2003. A Living Cities: The National Community Development Initiative databook. Looks at Newark in the context of the 23 cities in the Living Cities group, as well as within the largest 100 cities in the nation.
New Jersey County and Municipal Web Sites


Encyclopedia of American Urban History
Edited by David Goldfield. Thousand Oaks, Sage Publications, 2007. 2 volumes.
Includes articles, with bibliography, on the history many American cities. Rutgers-restricted Access

Municipal Governments

Forms of Municipal Government
Characteristics of the usual forms of municipal government; lists the form of government in the 30 most populous U.S. cities in 2010. From the National League of Cities.
State and Local Government on the Net
A directory of official state, county, and city government websites.

State of the Cities

The American Metropolis at Century's End: Past and Future Influences
Report of a survey, led by Robert Fishman (Rutgers University-Camden), of urban specialists who were asked to identify the key influences which shaped American cities in the past 50 years, as well as those most likely to shape cities in the future. Sponsored by the Fannie Mae Foundation.
State of the Cities Data Systems: Profile Reporting of SOCDS Principal Cities
Summary census data for 723 U.S. principal cities. Includes data on labor force (employment, unemployment rate, place of work, resident occupation, residents by occupation and industry); race/ethnicity; "where we're from;" educational attainment; poverty and income; families with children by type of family; housing units; rent and income; and property and violent crime rates.
State of the Cities Data Systems
Data on 542 central cities and 10,744 metropolitan suburban places. In addition to demographic, employment, and business data, the SOCDS also contains data on high tech jobs in cities, suburbs, and metropolitan areas, as well as house values and rents, and crime rates. "Fast Look" option allows user to view data tables for one or more selected cities. The SOCDS also includes Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy (CHAS) data showing housing problems and the availability of affordable housing for states, counties, and places, as well as Urban Finance data (public expenditures, revenues, and employees) for cities and metropolitan areas.
Living Cities: The National Community Development Initiative Databooks.
Demographic and economic data and analysis pertaining to population, race and ethnicity, immigration, age, households and families, education, work, commuting, income and poverty, and housing for the 23 cities in the "Living Cities" group. Looks at each city in the context of the group as well as within the largest 100 cities in the nation.
Urban Institute Research of Record: Cities and Neighborhoods
Includes large collection of publications (reports, working papers, press releases, presentations, etc.)--many available in full-text--relating to U.S. cities and neighborhoods. Includes subsets on: "Arts and Culture;" "Economic Development;" "Federal Urban Policies;" "Mobility and Transportation;" "Neighborhood Indicators;" "Neighborhoods and Community Building;" and the "Washington D.C. Region."
Next City
Daily online coverage of public policy and current affairs from an international, urbanist perspective.
Two Steps Back: City and Suburban Poverty Trends 1999-2005
Alan Berube and Elizabeth Kneebone. Brookings Institution Living Cities Census Series, December 2006.
"An analysis of poverty in cities and suburbs of the nation's 100 largest metropolitan areas."