The Basics
Restricted Access
Many of the resources listed in the sections below are marked Restricted Access. You should have no problem connecting to these from any networked computer on campus. However, in order to use these from off-campus, you must log in with your Rutgers NetID. For instructions see the Libraries' Remote Access to Library Resources.
Off-Campus Links
Once you have gone to a Rutgers Libraries page and logged in with your NetID [your pegasus username and password] you can use the "Off-Campus Link" provided for each Rutgers-restricted resource below to connect to that database or article. Use the link embedded in the citation to access these resources on campus.
E-Reserves
To get to readings that your instructor may have placed on Reserve in the Library, click here. Once you get to the Lookup box, the easiest way to get to the right list is to search by the Instructor's name.
Find Books
The online catalog includes all the Rutgers University Libraries except the Newark and Camden Law Libraries. Use the catalog to find out if the Rutgers Libraries have the specific books or journals that you need, or to locate books on topics that you're researching. Show Me How
Getting Books From Other Rutgers Libraries
If a book that you need is not available (not owned/checked out) at the Dana Library, but is available from another Rutgers Library, you can request delivery of that book to Dana by bringing up the record for the book in the catalog and clicking on tbe Deliver/Recall button. Show Me
Book Not Available/Not Owned by the Rutgers Libraries?
The fastest way to get a copy of a book that is not owned or not available (checked out/on Reserve/missing etc.) at the Rutgers Libraries is to request it through E-Z Borrow. E-Z Borrow books are normally received within about three working days. Tell Me More
If a book is not owned by the Rutgers Libraries and is not available via E-Z Borrow, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request. Tell Me More
NJIT students can place a request with Van Houten Library's Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery Services
Becoming an 'Expert' User
Want to maximize your use of Library resources? Check out Searchpath, the Libraries' interactive tutorial.
Citing Your Sources
You will most likely be using Chicago/Turabian style when citing the sources that you use in your research papers. The Chicago Manual of Style and Turabian's Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations are both available at the Dana Library Reference Desk. The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison also has a nice introduction to Chicago/Turabian Documentation that will give you the basic information you need to create bibliographic citations.
The above site does not, however, cover citing online resources. The Library of Congress has a guide on How to Cite Electronic Sources that show Turabian-style examples; the Bedford/St. Martin's site also offers useful information on Using Chicago Style to Cite and Document Sources
Rutgers students can also import references from IRIS and many of the electronic databases into RefWorks, a web-based bibliography and database manager. RefWorks will build your bibliography for you based on whatever style sheet you specify (MLA, Chicago, etc.). For information on setting up your (free) RefWorks account see the RefWorks FAQ.
NJIT's Van Houten Library offers the same service through another product, EndNote Web. This bibliographic manager also organizes citations, inserts references into your paper as you type and prepares your bibliography in the style, such as Chicago/Turabian, that you select. Rutgers' databases include EndNote Web as a choice in the citation export function. With the web platform for EndNote, you will be able to log into your NJIT account to save citations you locate at Dana Library. To create an EndNote Web account, please go to NJIT's Information Services and Technology page about EndNote.
Not sure when you need to cite something? Check out the Plagiarism Guide
Remember that plagiarism is a violation of the Rutgers University Policy on Academic Integrity for Undergraduate and Graduate Students and could result in your dismissal from the University!
NJIT
For questions related to Van Houten Library's services and resources:
Davida Scharf (davida.scharf@njit.edu)
(973) 642-4397
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
