This is the "Getting Started" page of the "American Popular Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Popular Culture   Tags: newark_american_studies  

Last Updated: Feb 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/popular Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Not sure where to start your research?

Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship relating to that topic. Knowing the issues can help you focus your research on a particular aspect of a topic.

 

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are great for finding out what has been written/is available on a specific topic.

ComicsResearch.org
Annotated bibliographies, covering primarily "book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research." Browse by a variety of subjects including genre and series.
 

Getting Started

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Tom and Sara Pendergast, editors. Detroit, MI, St. James Press, 2000. 5 vols.
2700 signed entries with bibliographies on all aspects of 20th century U.S. popular culture.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Dana Call Number: Ref. E169.1 .S764 2000
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
New York, Macmillan, 1996. 5 vols plus Supplement (2001).
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
2nd edition. Detroit, Macmillan, 2006. 6 vols.
Signed entries covering all aspects of African-American history and life. While the 2d edition expands the scope of the work beyond North America, it has only a little more than half of the number of entries found in the first edition. Many of the U.S.-centered articles (for example, entries on states and major cities) are not available in the 2d edition. About half of the articles that appear in both have been updated in the 2d edition. Bibliographic references. Together, a good starting point for research.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 2006. Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Natalie Borisovets
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip