This is the "Getting Started: Basic Resources" page of the "Political Theory and Theorists: Basic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Theory and Theorists: Basic Resources   Tags: newark_political_science  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2012 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/poltheory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started: Basic Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Not sure where to start your research?

Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship relating to that topic. Knowing the issues can help you focus your research on a particular aspect of a topic.

 

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas
Digital, searchable version of the classic 5-volume set published in 1973-74 [Dana Ref. CB5 .D52]. A basic resource for tracing the development of major concepts (e.g., Class; Democracy; The State) in history. Volume 5 focuses on "The historical development of economic, legal, and political ideas and institutions, ideologies, and movements." Lengthy, signed scholarly essays with bibliography.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. 6 vols.
Over 700 signed articles with up to date bibliographies. While the Dictionary of the History of Ideas was decidedly Eurocentric in its approach, articles in the NDHI are written from a global, multicultural perspective. Emphasize is on developments in scholarship since 1970. Available?
Encyclopedia of Governance
"Concepts, beliefs, and theories that inform contemporary governance."
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
Rodney P. Carlisle, general editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif., Sage, 2005. 2 vols.
Off-Campus Access Rutgers-restricted Access

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Natalie Borisovets
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip