Recent ImmigrantsAfricansAsiansCaribbeanEuropean: Eastern European/JewsEuropean: Western EuropeanLatinoMiddle Eastern
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "New Americans: American Immigration History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Americans: American Immigration History   Tags: newark_history  

Last Updated: May 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/newamericans Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Not Sure Where to Start Your Research?

Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship relating to that topic. Knowing the issues can help you focus your research on a particular aspect of a topic.

 

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are great for finding out what has been written/is available on a specific topic.

American Ethnic Geography: A Selected Bibliography of the Ethnic and Cultural Geography of the United States and Canada
Kilpinen, Jan T.
Immigration Issues: A Bibliography
Topical list of books and government documents dealing with American immigration issues.
 

Getting Started: Basic Reference Works

Martin, Philip and Midgley, Elizabeth, "Immigration: Shaping and Reshaping America". Population Bulletin 58(2), June, 2003. [Entire Issue].

Encyclopedia of American Immigration.
Carl L. Bankston III. Pasadena, CA., Salem Press, 2010. 3 volumes.
553 alphabetically arranged entries on a wide array of topics relating to immigration in the U.S. Includes entries on 65 individual ethnic and immigrant groups, as well as entries on the immigration history of each state in the U.S. Each entry is followed by a selective annotated bibliography. Rutgers-restricted Access
Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present
Matthew J. Gibney and Randall Hansen, editors. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 2005.
Almost 200 signed entries on diasporas, countries (sending & receiving), issues, themes, laws, and processes. International in scope, but with a strong emphasis on the U.S. Includes an extensive compilation of documents relating to immigration and asylum. Rutgers-restricted Access
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Edited by Stephan Thernstrom. Cambridge, Mass., Belnap Press, 1980.
"A guide to the history, culture, and distinctive characteristics of the more than 100 ethnic groups who live in the United States." Available?
American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
David Levinson and Melvin Ember. New York, Macmillan Reference USA, 1997. 2 vols.
Signed articles with bibliographies on 161 "nonindigenous cultural groups" in the U.S. Groups may be defined by nationality, language, culture, physical features or religion. Includes articles on groups that may not usually be treated as a separate ethnic group. Available?
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
James Ciment, Immanuel Ness, editors. Armonk, N.Y., M.E. Sharpe, 2000. 4 vols.
Immigration history; immigration issues (causes, demographics, acculturation, laws and legislation, politics, economics, etc.); and immigration documents (laws, treaties, court cases, reports, etc.).Volumes 3 and 4 contain articles on specific immigrant groups in America. Available?
Immigration in U.S. History
Edited by Carl L. Bankston, III and Danielle Antoinette Hidalgo. Pasadena, Calif., Salem Press, 2006. 2 vols.
193 signed entries with selective bibliography on groups, incidents, issues, people, court cases, laws and treaties relating to U.S. immigration history. Appendices include an annotated bibliography as well as a timeline of U.S. immigration history through 2005. Available?
New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965
Edited by Mary C. Waters and Reed Ueda. Cambridge, Mass., Harvard Universtiy Press, 2007.
Account of changes in American demographics since the major changes in immigation law after 1965, including the new waves of immigrants from non-European countries. Chapters on immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, family relations, and immigration from specific countries and areas. Available?
Illegal Immigration: A Reference Handbook
Michael C. LeMay. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-CLIO, 2007.
History, issues, laws, legislation, and proposed solutions to unauthorized immigration. Emphasis on 1965 to the present. Includes statistical tables, charts, information on key figures, and an extensive annotated bibliography. Rutgers-restrocted Access
We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity
James Paul Allen and Eugene James Turner. New York, Macmillan, 1988.
Data based on the 1980 Census, this atlas maps the geographical patterns of 67 ethnic and racial groups in the US. Available?
Executive Summary: U.S. Immigration: A Legislative History
"Highlights the history of U.S. immigration legislation and the parallel rise and fall in numbers and changing ethnic makeup" up to 2004. From the Population Resource Center.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Natalie Borisovets
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip