Skip to main content

Foundations of Policy Analysis: Home

Accompanies the Foundations of Policy Analysis class taught in the EMPA program by Dr. Lorraine Minnite

Resources for Foundations of Policy Analysis

Resources available at the Rutgers University Libraries (

Reference Works


International Encyclopedia of Political Science (2011)

Concise Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History (2011)

Locating Books

To locate relevant resources try combining your topic with the words "government policy" as a subject keyword search.  To limit your results to electronic resources select "RU Online" from the pulldown menu of libraries.

Indexes and Databases (Online)

The library has several journal indexes available. The best index for you will depend on your topic. Some of the general indexes that are likely to be relevant:

  • PAIS 
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • EconLit
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Business Source Premiere
  • Academic Search Premiere

To locate articles in newspapers or magazines, use the following indexes:

  • Access World News
  • Academic Search Premiere
  • Factiva
  • Westlaw Campus Research

The libraries subscribe to other primary source databases that might be relevant: 

  • iPoll Databank (public opinion polls)
  • Congressional Publications
  • Policy Map
  • Historical Statistics of the United States

Selected Internet Resources

  • National Center for Educational Statistics (
  • Census data (
  • ICPSR (on Rutgers University Libraries list of databases)

Subject Guide

Julie Still
Paul Robeson Library

Rutgers University, Camden

856 225-2846