Skip to main content

Introduction to Literary Study: Home

Sources for literary study on an advanced level for both graduates and undergraduates.

Other Guides You Should Know About

Literatures in English: A Research Guide

by Kevin Mulcahy

Kevin Mulcahy is the bibliographer for literature at the Alexander Library in New Brunswick.  His research guide is comprehensive.

Research Tips for Graduate Students

by Roberta Tipton 

General library information for Newark graduate students.

Basic Sources for Undergraduate Students

by Roberta Tipton

Introductory guide to Rutgers Libraries sources for undergraduate students.


Even More Research Guides in Literature

You can search all the Rutgers LibGuides research guides with keywords like "literature", "poets", "drama", and the like.  You will find guides from librarians all over the Rutgers system.

Access to Library Resources

Best Bets for Lit Crit

Really Useful Interdisciplinary Databases for Literary Study

Humanities Index Retrospective

Indexing of "core" academic titles in the humanities for 1907 to 1984.

Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)

Indexes many items not commonly found in one place elsewhere. Lists PDF or indicates Full Text@Rutgers if readily available. Does not prepare bibliographic output; you must use a citation manager (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or the like) or other method to capture bibliographic information.


Full-text backfiles of important academic journals in many fields. WARNING: Most materials in this database are more than five years old.  (Even your best friends won't tell you!)

Project Muse

Recent full-text articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Rutgers databases related to history, art, music, literature, philosophy, religion, and other humanities.

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Information Literacy Coordinator
The John Cotton Dana Library
tipton at
Website / Blog Page