Catalog Search Examples
- Here are some sample searches for the Rutgers library catalog:
Change agents-- WORDS anywhere (This is a keyword search.)
Milgram Stanley-- AUTHOR (last name first) (This search will retrieve books written by psychologist Stanley Milgram.)Nearing Helen-- AUTHOR (last name first) (This search will retrieve books written by back-to-the-land activist Helen Nearing.)
Social change-- SUBJECT begins with (This search will retrieve books by Library of Congress subject heading.)
Green movement-- SUBJECT keyword (This search will retrieve books with these words in a Library of Congress subject heading.)
Journal of Personality and Social Psychology-- PERIODICAL TITLE begins with
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary database ideal for undergraduate students. Searches exact phrases. Will output references in MLA format. Try these:
simplicity movement
green movement
authority
AND
obedience - Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega EditionIndexing from 1982 to present, with full text coverage from 1995 onwards. Emphasizes core journals for undergraduates in many different subject areas. Will output references in MLA format.
- Google Scholar (Rutgers restricted version)Indexes many items not commonly found in one place elsewhere. Lists PDF or indicates Full Text@Rutgers if readily available. Does not prepare bibliographic output; you must use a citation manager (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, or the like) or other method to capture bibliographic information.
- JSTORFull-text backfiles of important academic journals in many fields. WARNING: Most materials in this database are more than five years old.
- Project MuseRecent full-text articles, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Learning Objectives for English 102
After this class, you will be able to:
-
Find periodical articles, including scholarly articles, on the Rutgers University Libraries site.
-
Document what you find as you go and prepare a preliminary bibliography in MLA format from database output.
-
Find books in the Rutgers system.
Applicable standards:
- Association of College and Research Libraries. Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/standards/informationliteracycompetency.cfm#stan
- Standard Two: The information literate student accesses needed information effectively
and efficiently.
- Performance indicators 2.1-2.5
- Standard Two: The information literate student accesses needed information effectively
and efficiently.
-
Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
Characteristics
of Excellence in Higher Education: Requirements of Affiliation and Standards
for Accreditation, [Online Version updated March 2009 http://www.msche.org/publications/CHX06_Aug08REVMarch09.pdf
(p. 42). The document states that "information literacy is an essential
component of any educational program at the graduate or undergraduate levels." Applicable skills on the Middle States list include the ability to:
-
access
information effectively and efficiently;
- evaluate critically the sources and content of information.
-
access
information effectively and efficiently;
- Support of University mission:
- providing for the instructional needs of New Jersey’s citizens through its undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education programs
Quick Guides to Info Quality
- Rutgers Camden Wikipedia tutorialLearn why you can use Wikipedia to get started--but not use it in your final paper!
- Research Minutes: How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles (Cornell University Libraries)Learn the characteristics of scholarly journal articles and how to find them--in less than 2 minutes.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Roberta L. Tipton Business Librarian Public Administration Librarian Information Literacy Coordinator The John Cotton Dana Library Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey (973) 353-5910 (973) 353-5257 F Send Email |
Physical Sciences Librarian |
Contact Info John Cotton Dana Library 185 University Ave Newark, NJ 07102-1814 (973) 353-3811 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
