Skip to main content

Imagery and Culture: Visual Expressions of American Culture: Film, Television and Images

Propaganda: Posters and Other Visual Materials

World War II Poster Collection at Northwestern University Library
Over 400 posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies.
World War II Propaganda Films and IU
Streaming access to over 200 War-era films from IULMIA's collections. In addition to films focused on war news and topice, includes films about domestic life and economy, agriculture, workplace training, and the cultures of the allied nations.
Ad*Access
"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955." A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.
Emergence of Advertising in America
"Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.

Comic Books

Grand Comics Database
International database includes access to over 669,499 comic book covers and some 1,964,009 stories.

American Memory

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The Library of Congress site offers access to more than 9 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The collections include manuscripts, photographs, posters, maps, books, pamphlets, and sheet music, as well as sound recordings and motion pictures and can either be browsed or searched.

Radio, Television, and Film

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Includes Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.   Rutgers-restricted Access
American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.   Rutgers-restricted Access
Videos on Politics: War Culture and Propaganda
Videos and DVDs in the Rutgers Library collections.
Videos on Politics: Media and Politics
Videos and DVDs in the Rutgers Library collections.
Swank Digital Campus
Digital access to feature films and documentaries that Rutgers instructors are using in their courses this year. Content will change from semester to semester.

Finding Early Film Reviews

Film Review Index. 2 vols
Patricia King Hanson & Stephen L. Hanson, editors. Phoenix, Ariz., Oryx Press, 1986-
One of the best sources for finding early film reviews, the Film Review Index cites reviews to over 7000 feature films released between 1914 and 1985. Vol. 1: 1882-1949; Vol. 2: 1950-1985. In addition to popular magazines, the index also lists reviews in trade publications, newspapers, anthologies, and selected books.
Dana Call Number: Ref. PN1995 .F513 1986

Once you have the list of sources in which a specific film was reviewed, you will need to go to the Rutgers Library Catalog to find out if that source is available at Rutgers.BROWSE by the Periodical title when searching with the journal name or by Title when searching for a book.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982. An excellent source for finding film reviews.

Historical Magazines

Media History Digital Library: Online Access to the Histories of Cinema, Broadcasting & Sound
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Over 800,000 pages currently scanned. Among available titles are: Broadcasting 1931-1956; The Film Daily 1918-1948; Photoplay 1914-1943; Radio Age 1942-1957; and Variety 1905-1949.

Image Libraries

ARTstor
Approximately 700,000 images with citations in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Rutgers-restricted Access
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 685,000 images digitized from NYPL collections.
Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century
Search or browse a rich collection of images taken from the collections of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.
Iconic AP Images of the 20th Century
"A collection of some of the AP's most iconic, recognizable historical images from around the world, including Pulitzer Prize winning photography." 1932-1999.

You can also use Google Image Search to look for images of particular people or subjects.

Paintings

American Paintings of the Eighteenth Century
Catalog of the collection of the National Gallery of Art.
American Paintings of the Nineteenth Century, Part 1
American Paintings of the Nineteenth Century, Part II.
Catalog of the collection of the National Gallery of Art.

Finding Films

Want to know if the Rutgers Libraries own a particular film?

Enter the title into the search box in the Libraries' online catalog and select "Title" from the pull-down menu. SEARCH. At the results screen, select the format from menu on the left.
DVDs and VHS cassettes are on shelves on the lower level of Dana Library near the group lounge area. Simply take the empty box for the item you want upstairs to the Circulation Desk located in the first floor lobby of the library. Circulation staff will retrieve the tape, CD or DVD for you and check it out to you just as they would a book.
Most circulating DVDs owned by the Media Center in New Brunswick are eligible for the Rutgers Delivery Service.