Skip to main content

History of Marriage in America: Home

Resources to accompany Dr. Margaret Marsh's class on the history of marriage in America.

Resources on the History of Marriage

Indexes and Databases (Online)

 

The library has several journal indexes available. The best index for you will depend on your topic, but one of general interest for the suject is:

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America)

Full Text Magazines

Ladies Home Journal 1889 – 1970 (microfilm), 1889 – 1907 (online in American Periodical Series)  This publication is indexed in the Readers’ Guide which can be searched online.

Godeys Ladies Book 1830-1898 (online)

Harpers Magazine  in print 1850- 1939, with some gaps

American Perodical Series (full text database, provides the full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations, editiorial cartoons, obituaries, letters to the editor, etc., from more than 1,100 American magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1940.

 

Reference Works

General

Encyclopedia of American Social History / Ref HN57.E58 1993 (Volume 3 has a lengthy article on courtship, marriage, and divorce)

Bibliography

American Diaries / REF CT 214 A74 (an index to diaries published as books or journal articles, with several indexes)

 

Locating Books

These subject headings may be useful when looking for books in the Library Catalog:

  • Marriage -- United States -- History

Try using the keyword search option in addition to subject headings. 

 

Subject Guide

Julie Still
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library

Rutgers University, Camden


856 225-2846