Abbreviations, Calculators, DictionariesGovernment WebsitesGrey LiteratureNursing Information PortalsNursing OrganizationsWriting and Publishing
This is the "Select Databases" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Newark-Rutgers School of Nursing library research tools
Last Updated: Feb 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/gfs_nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Select Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Select Databases

Click this link for general tips on searching the databases below using "AND, OR, NOT." (Boolean Logic)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO Host database retrieval system)

  • Covers a wide range of academic areas including arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, literature, sciences, social sciences, technology and women's studies
  • Full text for more than 2,330 journals dating back to 1990
  • Can limit search results to refereed or peer-reviewed journals

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO Host database retrieval system)

Cochrane Library

  • High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-makers
  • Reliable evidence from Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDRS)
  • Includes several databases such as Cochrane Library’s Health Technology and Assessment (HTA) Database having over 22,000 studies on economic, ethical, medical, and social implications of healthcare interventions and the Cochrane Library’s National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database containing over 5,000 abstracts of appraised economic evaluations to guide healthcare decision-makers

Drug Information Research Guide

Dynamed

  • Point-of-care evidence-based practice (EBP) resource
  • Available as a web-based product and for handheld devices
  • Covers over 3,000 medical topics, including drug topics

eMedicine (free version from Internet)

  • Collection of monographs covering 65 professional specialties and three consumer areas
  • Includes streaming video, audio, and color images suitable for clinical and teaching purposes
  • Includes Continuing Medical Education (CME) Case of the Week

Essential Evidence Plus (formerly InfoRetriever)

  • Point-of-care evidence-based practice (EBP) resource
  • Emphasis on outcomes to influence practice
  • Information assigned a “Level of Evidence” (LOE) score
  • Includes EBM Guidelines (EBMG) in place of the non-evidence based reference text, 5-Minute Clinical Consult
    • EBMG is produced by the Finnish Medical Society Duodecim and includes a concise, easy-to-use collection of more than 950 Practice Guidelines, more than 3,000 Evidence Summaries, and more than 1,000 images.
  • Includes InfoPOEMs – Patient Oriented Evidence That Matters – providing critiques of clinically relevant research articles
  • Download thru UMDNJ Libraries for a variety of handheld devices
  • Video on Searching Essential Evidence Plus

First Consult

  • Point-of-care evidence-based practice (EBP) resource
  • Evidence-based guidance on the latest in patient evaluation, diagnosis, and management
    Access FIRSTConsult by going to MD Consult and clicking on the FIRSTConsult logo in the upper right hand corner of the page

Google Scholar

  • This is a good database for doing early or preliminary searches on a topic.
  • Use the FindIt @ RBHS button next to each reference for accessing full-text articles.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments

  • Features material on unpublished measurement tools discussed in the journal literature

Health Reference Center-Academic

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice (OvidSP search engine)

  • Use this resource to locate appraised summaries of evidence on nursing topics relevant to nurses in clinical practice, as well as those engaging in research.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
 

Medline (OvidSP search engine)

Mental Measurements Yearbook

  • Guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments; contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership


NORD's Rare Disease Database


Nursing and Allied Health Collection: Comprehensive

  • Contains nearly 400 full text journals that are indexed in CINAHL, including nearly 300 peer-reviewed titles covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines

Proquest Social Science Journals

  • Includes references to more than 160 key journals for social science subjects such as anthropology, community health and medical care, family studies, gender studies, international relations, minority studies, psychiatry, and social work
  • Can limit search results to refereed or peer-reviewed journals articles

PsycINFO (OvidSP search engine)

PubMed 

  • This PubMed link includes access to UMDNJ Libraries E-Journal articles where available for those in the UMDNJ Community.
  • PubMed versus MEDLINE--What is the difference?

Web of Science

  • Contains Science Citation Index Expanded and the Social Sciences Citation Index
  • In Web of Science- Click option "Select a Database" to search Current Contents database
  • Covers over 6,000 U.S. and international, multidisciplinary journals
  • Features include tools for tracking citations in the published literature, Cited Reference Search, and a related product Journal Citation Reports
 

Home of this Guide

 

 

Rutgers George F. Smith Library
30 12th Avenue
Newark, NJ 07103

Smith Reference Desk; 973-972-4358

Guide Designer: Marie K. Saimbert

Send Email

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip