This is the "Select Databases" page of the "HIV and AIDS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIV and AIDS  

Resources on the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) which can lead to Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/gfs_hiv_aids Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Select Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Acknowledgement

Currently, content and structure of this guide is courtesy of Medical Librarian Janettte Pierce at Rowan University.

Select Databases

Cochrane Library Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. Cochrane reviews are recognised as a gold standard in evidence-based health care.


DynaMed is a medical reference system that uses an evidence-based approach. It offers clinically organized disease summaries for almost 1800 topics. The product was created by a physician and designed for physicians to use as a clinical reference tool at the point of care. It links to evidence articles including some fulltext.


Essential Evidence PLUS (formerly InfoRetriever) is a source of evidence-based information for clinicians. It includes POEMS (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters); Cochrane Database abstracts; collections of clinical decision rules, diagnostic tests, history and physical exam maneuvers; and drug information, as well as ICD9 and E/M coding assistants.


FIRSTConsult is an evidence-based electronic primary care clinical information system providing specialized diagnostic tools and continuously updated thinking on the latest in evaluation and diagnosis, management options, patient outcomes and prevention at the point and time of a clinical encounter

MEDLINE (OvidSP) Bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical literature. Includes some full-text available from OvidSP's full text collection of approximately 150 journals. (1996 to most current week)


PubMed A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to some full text articles from PubMed Central (approximately 450 journals) and other free resources.
Both the databases above have a limit that can be used on any search for HIV/ AIDS information called "AIDS Subset." The limit is based on search strategies used for creating NLM's AIDSLINE database which was closed in 1999.

 

Home of this Guide

 

 

Rutgers George F. Smith Library
30 12th Avenue
Newark, NJ 07103

Smith Reference Desk; 973-972-4358

Guide Designer: Marie K. Saimbert

Send Email

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip