Skip to main content

Genocide: Pathways to Perpetration: Home

Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity.
Dinah L. Shelton, editor. Detroit, Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. More than 350 signed, entries relating to crimes against humanity. Each entry includes a brief, selected bibliography. Emphasis on 19th and 20th century events, but also includes articles on earlier events. Appendix includes historical, international, and judicial primary documents.

Videos

Screaming Bloody Murder. Christianne Amanpur CNN documentary about genocides around the world. In 14 YouTube segments.

Genocide and the Holocaust. Videos and DVDs in the Rutgers University Libraries.

Filmography

Filmography of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity. Annotated filmography compiled by Adam Jones.

Why?

Behavioral Study of Obedience
Stanley Milgram. Journal of Abnormal and Social Psychology 67(4), October 1963, pp.371-378 Rutgers-restricted Access
Becoming Evil: How Ordinary People Commit Genocide and Mass Killing
James Waller. 2nd edition. New York,l Oxford University Press, 2007. Available?
The Psychology of Genocide: Perpetrators, Bystanders, and Rescuers
Steven K. Baum. New York, Cambridge University Press, 2008. Available?
Why Did They Kill?: Cambodia in the Shadow of Genocide
Alexander Laban Hinton. Berkeley, University of California Press, 2005. Available?

Research Sites

Yale Genocide Studies Program
The Genocide Studies Program at Yale University's MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies conducts research, seminars and conferences on comparative, interdisciplinary, and policy issues relating to the phenomenon of genocide. The GSP also maintains research projects on those catastrophes, on the Nazi Holocaust, the genocides in Bosnia and Darfur, and on colonial and indigenous genocides.
University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
The Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies (CHGS) is an academic research institution at the University of Minnesota, dedicated to educating all sectors of society about the Holocaust and other genocides. Virtual exhibits, video and audio files, and a classified bibliography relating to the Holocaust and Genocide.
Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights
Canada’s leading research and advocacy Institute for genocide and mass atrocity crimes prevention. Bibliographies; links to papers, and archival collections.
Resources on 20th Century Genocides
Collections of resources on specific 20th century genocides. From Prevent Genocide International.
Forgotten Genocides
Case studies on instances of mass extermination and cultural obliteration that have been more or less forgotten. From the Rutgers University Newark Center for the Study of Genocide and Human Rights.