Periodical and Newspaper CollectionsMajor Full-Text Resources--Rutgers RestrictedRelated Image, Sound & Text Databases
Literary HistoriesBiographical SourcesBook Review SourcesCompanions, EncyclopediasPrimary BibliographiesDictionariesGuides to Manuscripts
General GatewaysMedieval SourcesRenaissance & 17th Centuries18th CenturyRomanticism and the 19th CenturyDigital Journals20th & 21rst Century
E-ZBorrowArticle DeliveryInterlibrary LoanReference and Consultation Services
Criticism & Scholarship in Related FieldsMajor Resources
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Literatures in English: A Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literatures in English: A Research Guide  

A guide to print and digital resources for research in English language literatures
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/english Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Books

A list of new acquisitions in English and American Literature and related fields.

 

About this Guide

Rutgers University has more than 20 libraries on 7 campuses in three cities. Alexander Library is the oldest and largest, and it is the one that serves as the research collection for literatures in English. All of the reference works and microform collections listed in this guide are located in Alexander Library unless otherwise specified. All of the services described here are available at all of the Rutgers libraries and from the Rutgers computer network. Researchers should know that for a variety of historical and geographical reasons, there are significant collections for the study of literatures in English at four other Rutgers libraries: the Dana Library in Newark and the Robeson Library in Camden (both of which support Master's level programs in English); and the Kilmer and Douglass Library in New Brunswick. In addition, researchers, especially those engaged in interdisciplinary topics, should be aware of the Laurie Music Library (housed within the Douglass Library) and the Art Library (in Voorhees Hall). Note should also be made of Special Collections and Archives, housed on the basement level of Alexander Library, where the major manuscript and rare book collections reside.

 

Literary Research is increasingly dependent on digital resources.  Many of these are proprietary databases--that is, individuals or institutions must purchase them or pay ongoing subscriptions costs.  The Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to many databases relevant to literary research, and you will find descriptions and links to those here.  Other databases are non-proprietary, that is they are freely accessible to anyone with a web connection.  Most have been created by institutions or individual scholars, and this guide will provide descriptions and links to some representative and important examples.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kevin Mulcahy
Contact Info
Room 102
Alexander Library (College Avenue Campus)
Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ
(848) 932-6108
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip