Skip to main content

21:730:107 Critical Thinking: Bioethics: Bioethics Resources

A guide to research resources for Professor Beuchner's online course in Critical Thinking and Bioethics.

Welcome to Bioethics

Dear Student:

I hope the material in this guide helps you with your online coursework for Professor Beuchner's Critical Thinking: Bioethics course.  This page contains information about research resources related to Philosophy and Bioethics. Other pages include basic information about using the Rutgers University Libraries as well as suggested sources and examples of search terms to start you on your journey.

You will need to connect to the library's resources from off campus. There is a LibGuide that will help you get started using Rutgers Library Resources.

If you live too far away from any of the Rutgers Libraries to pick up a book you want, you can order it through your local library via Interlibrary Loan. Be aware that this process may take a long time, so plan your research projects in advance to allow for delays in delivery.

Please contact me any time with questions about research, or you can call the Dana Library Reference Desk during their listed hours of operation.

Best regards,

Krista White (, 973-353-5913)

Dana Reference Desk 973-353-5901

Electronic Journals for Bioethics

Electronic Journals for Bioethics

You must be logged in to the library's web site in order to access these databases.

This academic journal has issues from 1998 to the present. There is a 1 year delay, so you must order articles from the most recent year (2012) via Interlibrary Loan. Articles previous to 1998 should also be ordered via Interlibrary Loan.

Health Ethics Today (University of Alberta John Dossetor Health Ethics Center)
This academic journal has issues from 1997 to the present. There is a 1 year delay, so you must order articles from the most recent year (2012) via Interlibrary Loan. Articles previous to 1997 should also be ordered via Interlibrary Loan.

Journal of Bioethical Inquiry (Bioethics Centre, University of Otago)
This academic journal has issues from 2006 to the present. You must order articles from any previous years via Interlibrary Loan.

This academic journal has issues from 2008 to the present. You must order articles from any previous years via Interlibrary Loan.

This academic journal has issues from 2008 to the present. You must order articles from any previous years via Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Articles

The following sources can be used to access bibliographic information on books and journal articles in philosophy.  The sources listed here include both sources specific to philosophy (such as Philosopher's Index); and sources that cover a broader subject area of which philosophy is a part (such as Academic Search or L'Annee Philologique)

Electronic Indexes and Abstracts -- Rutgers Restricted Access

**The Philosopher's Index (1940-present)
The preeminent indexing and abstracting service for philosophers and students of philosophy. Provides coverage of all major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian, as well as publications from related fields. Selected books are also indexed.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
A multi-discipline, full-text database of 3,200 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,170 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.

L'Année Philologique
Bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2007 with new records added each year. L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in topical collections, dissertations, and book reviews.

ATLA Religion Database
Compilation of indexes    to religious topics, including Philosophy of Religion.

A database featuring back runs of key journals.  JSTOR has agreed with publishers to set up a "moving wall" so that the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 2-5 years after the publishing date. The Rutgers subscription to JSTOR provides access to 23 philosophy journals, including Journal of Philosophy, Mind, Philosophical Quarterly, and Philosophical Review. JSTOR features full-text searching of key words and phrases.

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973+).
Coverage includes philosophy of language, with coverage of books, journals, conferences, and web sites. Citations only.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
Indexes critical scholarship on philosophy as related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.

Periodicals Index Online
An international interdisciplinary index useful for finding articles from as early as 1770, including several hundred in French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Periodicals Index Online includes a growing online archive of full-image articles. There are 390 philosophy titles included, withsome  available full-text (including some cross links to JSTOR).

Philosophical Books. (1960-)
Also available to 2010 in ALEXANDER PER Shelved By Title.  Most recent online version has ceased carrying book reviews.

Web of Science
Citation indexes, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science includes citations and references from articles in high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 1994 to the present

Reference Resources

Electronic Encyclopedias for Bioethics

Medicine - Health - and Bioethics: Essential Primary Sources [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries with "full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context."

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers all aspects of death and dying -- biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical. A freely accessible version of this 2 volume set is also available.

Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research [Rutgers Restricted]
"Provides a clear understanding of the basic concepts in stem cell biology and addresses the politics, ethics, and challenges currently facing the field."

Green Ethics and Philosophy: An A-to-Z Guide [Rutgers Restricted]
"Covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement." Part of the Green Society: Toward a Sustainable Future series.

Electronic Encyclopedias for General Philosophy

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Covers "a varied array of selected pivotal topics in intellectual history and of methods of writing about such topics" and "recounts the historical development of such ideas across a range of disciplines, including philosophy, religion, politics, literature, and the biological, physical, and social sciences."

Encyclopedia of Philosophy [Rutgers Restricted Access]
An electronic version of the 10 volume 2nd edition by Donald Borchert, Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. Covers all aspects of Philosophy.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A fully searchable online encyclopedia, featuring articles written by professional philosophers. Also includes a philosophy time line and a small collection of classic philosophical texts.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A dynamic encyclopedia, in which each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or a group of experts in the field.

Electronic Texts and Archives

Electronic Archives and Texts

Bertrand Russell Archives (McMaster University)
Online resources for the study of the British philosopher, logician, essayist, and peace advocate. Includes an archival gallery of scanned images of documents and other artifacts; a database of correspondence records; searchable tables of contents of A Bibliography of Bertrand Russell and The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell (in-progress), and a table of new and recent works in Bertrand Russell studies.

English Server - Philosophy Collection
This collection contains canonical philosophic texts and links to scholarly and philosophic organizations. The English Server has additional collections in critical theory, history, and eighteenth century studies which also address philosophical interests and concerns, and can be accessed from the links on this page.

Cambridge Histories Online: Philosophy Collection. [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Each volume of the Cambridge Histories includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The Philosophy Collection contains 8 titles covering topics in the history of philosophy, including Greek, Jewish, Christian, and Islamic thought from Antiquity to the present.

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Includes digitized texts of the works of Kante, Fichte and Schleiermacher.

Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy
A bibliography of the essential secondary readings in English on Chinese Philosophy.

Leibniz: Sämtliche Schriften und Briefe (Akademie–Ausgabe)
Portions of the Sämtliche Schriften und Briefe may be downloaded from this site for scholarly use. Scholars may not use the texts provided, either a part or the whole of a work, for publication or commercial purposes without express written permission. All rights of the responsible editors and responsible publisheres are reserved.

People with Online Papers in Philosophy (David Chalmers, University of Arizona)
A list of individuals who have made papers in philosophy and related areas available online.  Primarily academic philosophers are represented, although a few scientists and others are included.

Perseus Project
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. Among the many items of interest to philosophers are standard Greek editions of works by Plato and Aristotle.

PhilSci - Archive
Papers in Philosophy of Science providing preprints.  The Archive provides means of disseminating new work.  Sponsored by the Center for Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburg.

Philosopher's Imprint
A refereed series of original papers in philosophy, edited by philosophy faculty at the University of Michigan, with the advice of an international Board of Editors, and published on the World Wide Web by the University of Michigan Digital Library. The mission of the Imprint is to promote a future in which funds currently spent on journal subscriptions are redirected to the dissemination of scholarship for free, via the Internet." (from the free website). Users must subscribe, but there is no cost to do so.

Rutgers Classical Texts Archive
A collection of over 80 classics texts. Authors represented include Aristotle, Boethius, Epictetus, Galen and Plato. Some less famous works are included. Texts can be Browsed by Author/Title and Category. Full text searching can be done across the entire collection for those texts that are in English.

Original Page Creator

Sources on this page on bioethics research resources are based on the RU LibGuide for Philosophy Research by Jim Neissen, World History Librarian

Digital Humanities Librarian

Krista White
Digital Humanities Librarian

The John Cotton Dana Library
Social:Twitter Page

New Philosophy Books

Philosophy Department Home Page

American Philosophical Association

Rutgers Philosophy Disserations

Internet Resources

Internet Resources

Contemporary Philosophy of Mind: An Annotated Bibliography
This is a bibliography of recent work in the philosophy of mind, philosophy of cognitive science, philosophy of artificial intelligence, and on consciousness in the sciences.

Episteme Links
Categorized links to Philosophy resources on the Internet.

Ethics Updates: Bioethics, Cloning and Reproductive Technologies
Updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.

Suggested Books