New Americans: American Immigration History

Asian American Chronology

Xiaojian Zhao. Santa Barbara, Calif., Greenwood Press, 2009.
Pre-nineteenth to the 21st century. Available?

Asian American Encyclopedia

Franklin Ny, editor. New York, Marshall Cavendish, 1995. 6 vols.
Signed entries on topics dealing with various Asian groups in the U.S. Especially strong on cultural aspects and issues. Bibliographic references. An outstanding resource. Available?

Racism, Dissent, and Asian Americans From 1850 to the Present: A Documentary History

Edited by Philip S. Foner and Daniel Rosenberg. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1993. Available?

A Demographic Profile of Undocumented Immigrants from Asia and the Pacific Islands

Evin Millet. Center for Migration Studies, June 14, 2022.

China and America: A Bibliography of Interactions, Foreign and Domestic

James M. McCutcheon. Honolulu, University Press of Hawaii, 1972.
Selective bibliography of English-language materials. Includes sections on Chinese immigration and exclusion, and on the Chinese community in the U.S. Available?

A History Reclaimed: An Annotated Bibliography of Chinese Language Materials on the Chinese of America

Compiled by Him Mark Lai. Los Angeles, Asian American Studies Center, University of California, 1986. Available?

Beyond the City and the Bridge: East Asian Immigration in a New Jersey Suburb

Noriko Matsumoto. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 2018.

A case study of Fort Lee, New Jersey. Fort Lee has one of the largest concentrations of East Asians of any suburb on the East Coast, with Chinese, Japanese, and Koreans forming distinct communities. Available?

When Newark Had a Chinatown: My Personal Journey

Yoland Skeete-Laessing. Pittsburgh, Dorrance, 2016. Available?

Our Laundry, Our Town: My Chinese American Life from Flushing to the Downtown Stage and Beyond

Alvin Eng. New York, Fordham University Press, 2022. Rutgers-restricted Access

Hua bu ying xiong pu : er shi shi ji jiu shi nian dai Manhadun hua bu = Chinatown heros : Manhattan Chinatown in the 1990s

New York, 2020. Available?

Forever Struggle: Activism, Identity, and Survival in Boston's Chinatown, 1880-2018

Michael Liu. University of Massachusetts Press, 2020. Rutgers-restricted Access

Family Sacrifices: The Worldviews and Ethics of Chinese Americans

Helen Jin Kim, Seanan S. Fong, and Russell M. Jeung. New York, Oxford University Press, 2019. Rutgers-restricted Access

Sikhs in North America: An Annotated Bibliography

Darshan Singh Tatla. New York, Greenwood Press, 1991. Available?

Coming From India: Parts 1 and 2
Coming From India: Parts 1 and 2

Radio documentary on the East Indian community in New Jersey. Co-production of NJN Radio and the New Jersey Historical Commission. 1998

Suburban Sahibs : Three Immigrant Families and Their Passage from India to America

S Mitra Kalita. Rutgers University Press, 2003.

Explores the migration to central New Jersey of three waves of Indian immigrant groups, represented by three families. Rutgers-restricted Access

Oral History Project: The Immigrant Experience of Asian Indians in New Jersey

Association of Indians in America. New Jersey Chapter.

Transcripts of interviews (2002-2003) with 21 Asian-Indian immigrants who have made an impact in the fields of politics, business, the arts, science, medicine, and community service. Available?

Indian Immigrant Women and Work : the American Experience

Ramya Mahadevan Vijaya and Bidisha Biswas. Routledge, 2017. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Other One Percent: Indians in America

Nirvikar Singh, Devesh Kapur, and Sanjoy Chakravorty. New York, Oxford University Press, 2017. Rutgers-restricted Access

American Karma: Race, Culture, and Identity in the Indian Diaspora

Sunil Bhatia. NYU Press, 2007. Rutgers-restricted Access

Becoming American, Being Indian : An Immigrant Community in New York City

Madhulika S. Khandelwal. Cornell University Press, 2018. Rutgers-restricted Access

Desis In The House: Indian American Youth Culture In NYC

Marr Maira Sunaina. Temple University Press, 2012. Rutgers-restricted Access

Chronology of Filipinos in America Pre-1898

Eloisa Gomez Borah. Chronology with links where available.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Filipina/x/o American Studies

Kevin Leo Yabut Nadal, Allyson Tintiangco-Cubales, and E.J.R. David. Sage Publications, 2022. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Filipino Migration Experience: Global Agents of Change

Mina Roces. Cornell University Press, 2021. Rutgers-restricted Access

From Exile to Diaspora : Versions of the Filipino Experience in the United States

Epifanio San Juan. Routledge, 1998. Rutgers-restricted Access

Exclusion of Immigration from the Philippine Islands: Hearings Before the United States House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization

Washington, D.C., United States Congress. House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization, Seventy-First Congress, 2d Session, April 10-12, May 7 and 8, 1930. 

Naturalization of Filipinos: Hearings Before the United States House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization

Washington, D.C., United States Congress. House Committee on Immigration and Naturalization, Seventy-Eighty Congress, 2d Session, November 22, 1944. Available?

Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference From 1868 to the Present

Brian Niiya, editor. Updated edition. New York, Facts on File, 2001. Available?

Japanese American Internment During World War II: A History and Reference Guide

Wendy L. Ng. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2002. Available?

Education, Assimilation And Acculturation: A Case Study of A Japanese-american Community In New Jersey

Koji Shimada. (Ph.D Thesis) Temple University, 1975. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Japanese in America, 1843-1973: A Chronology & Fact Book

Masako Herman. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1974. Available?

Beyond the City and the Bridge: East Asian Immigration in a New Jersey Suburb

Noriko Matsumoto. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 2018.

A case study of Fort Lee, New Jersey. Fort Lee has one of the largest concentrations of East Asians of any suburb on the East Coast, with Chinese, Japanese, and Koreans forming distinct communities. Available?

Distant Islands: The Japanese American Community in New York City, 1876-1930s

David Reimers and Daniel H. Inouye. University Press of Colorado, 2018. Rutgers-restricted Access

A Brief History of Korean Americans 

A short essay on the history of Koreans in America. Published online by the National Associations of Korean Americans, Edited by John H. Kim, Esq.

Koreans in America, 1882-1974: A Chronology & Fact Book

Hyung-chan Kim. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1974. Available?

Korean American Digital Archive

"The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965." Part of the University of Southern California Digital Library.

Beyond the City and the Bridge: East Asian Immigration in a New Jersey Suburb

Noriko Matsumoto. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 2018.

A case study of Fort Lee, New Jersey. Fort Lee has one of the largest concentrations of East Asians of any suburb on the East Coast, with Chinese, Japanese, and Koreans forming distinct communities. Available?

New Urban Immigrants : The Korean Community in New York

Illsoo Kim. Princeton University Press, 2014. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Korean American Dream: Immigrants and Small Business in New York City

Kyeyoung Park. Cornell University Press, 2018. Rutgers-restricted Access

Vietnamese Americans: Patterns of Resettlement and Socioeconomic Adaptation in the United States

Darrel Montero. Taylor & Francis, 2020. Rutgers-restricted Access

Becoming Refugee American: The Politics of Rescue in Little Saigon

University of Illinois Press, 2017. Rutgers-restricted Access

Use these "formulas" to search the Catalog for material on specific immigrant groups:

[Country Name] Emigration and Immigration Example: Philippines Emigration and Immigration
[Country Name] Americans Example: East Indian Americans
[Group] United States Example: Filipinos United States

If a book that you need is not available (not owned/checked out) at the Dana Library, but a circulating copy (BOOK-Y) is available from another Rutgers Library, you can request delivery of that book to Dana by bringing up the record for the book in the Catalog and clicking on the Book Delivery button.