Workers' Compensation Resources & Research

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is a law that was enacted by the U.S. Congress in 1990. It was signed into law on July 26, 1990, by President George H. W. Bush, and later amended with changes effective January 1, 2009.

This site provides statistics which include, employee benefits statistics easily located by selecting A-Z index upper right hand corner on upper blue bar running horizontally across the home page. Many other types of relevant statistics are available and can be chosen from the home page or through this same index.

Reports, briefs and research papers can be found on this site, covering areas such as poverty, health insurance, and income/median income under the heading, People & Households.

CDC′s mission is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.

NIOSH provides national and world leadership to prevent work-related illness, injury, disability, and death by gathering information, conducting scientific research, and translating the knowledge gained into products and services, including scientific information products, training videos, and recommendations for improving safety and health in the workplace.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) is a federal agency within the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) that administers the Medicare program and works in partnership with state governments to administer Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and health insurance portability standards.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) is a federal agency within the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) that administers the Medicare program and works in partnership with state governments to administer Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and health insurance portability standards.

"The United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves." Overseer of Medicare, Medicaid, and other programs.

You can find FAQ’s and full text of laws & regulations on wages and hours, workplace safety & health, retirement & health benefits, union membership, plus information on regulations that affect hiring and termination practices.

A Department of Labor subsite, where you will find the text of laws and regulations, FAQ’s, government guides for consumers and businesses.

The GAO is known as “the investigative arm of Congress” and “the Congressional Watchdog”. GAO supports the Congress, provides oversight of federal programs, and publishes research reports on diverse public policy topics.

Part of the Centers for Disease Control, the Center’s reports also include information on health insurance.

OSHA’s mission is to assure the safety and health of America’s workers by setting and enforcing standards; providing training, outreach, and education; establishing partnerships; and encouraging continual process improvement in workplace safety and health.

The source for all regulations (or rulemakings) issued by U.S. Government agencies. It includes regulations that are open for public comment (i.e., proposed) and closed for comment (i.e., final). This site also includes other non-rulemaking documents, such as Federal agency notices, supporting materials, public comments, and Federal agency guidance and adjudications.

US Legislative search engine for finding laws and other government documents.

U.S. government's official web portal.

The mission of the Division of Coal Mine Workers' Compensation, or Federal Black Lung Program, is to administer claims filed under the Black Lung Benefits Act.

The Federal Employees' Compensation Act provides workers' compensation coverage to three million federal and postal workers around the world for employment-related injuries and occupational diseases.

The Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Act (LHWCA) provides employment-injury and occupational-disease protection to approximately 500,000 workers who are injured or contract occupational diseases occurring on the navigable waters of the United States, or in adjoining areas, and for certain other classes of workers covered by extensions of this Act.