The Newark Experience

Newark (p.6) and Camden (p.7) were included in the 1905 Chinese Census. Individual data (about 30 individuals for each city) includes name, age, classification, address, and papers/remarks.

When Newark Had a Chinatown: My Personal Journey

Yoland Skeete-Laessig. Pittsburgh, Dorrance, 2016. Available?

The Chinese of Newark, New Jersey: A Social Survey.

Zhi Meng. Thesis (M.A.), Columbia University, 1924.

The Newark Chinese in the 1920s. Includes an analysis of the population, the standard of living, social life, and adaptation, as well as a history of the Chinese in Newark. Available?

"Chas. Gong" Chinese Restaurant, c.1920

William Cone photograph.

Nankin Garden Restaurant Company: "America's Greatest Oriental Restaurant"

Nankin Garden (postcard)

"Clark and Foreman Succeed in Federal Drive Against Newark Chinatown's Opium Business,"

Trenton Times February 11, 1932.

One of many FBI raids during this period.

" Vestiges of a Community That Vanished Long Ago: One Man, Memories All That Remain of Newark's Chinatown,"

Katie Wang. Newark Star-Ledger June 3, 2007. Rutgers-restricted Access

Spatial Analysis of Ethnic Migration Behavior: A Case Study of Chinese Immigrants in the New York-Newark-Jersey City Metropolitan Area

Yanxia Wu. (Ph.D. Thesis). Oklahoma State University, 2021. Rutgers-restricted Access

Newark's Chinatown: The Mulberry Street Neighborhood Part 1 Part 2

Panel, March 21, 2011, New Jersey Historical Society, Newark. Sponsored by the Newark History Society and the Organization of Chinese Americans (OCA) NJ Chapter. Moderated by Robert Steinbaum.

When Newark had a Chinatown

Talk by Yoland Skeete-Laessig at Rutgers University-Newark on September 26, 2016.

The Newark News clippings file

has almost 300 articles on Newark's Chinatown going back to 1873. The Newark Public Library has microfilmed the Newark News files; Dana Library has microfilm for a portion of the collection. The Chinatown articles are on Reel N-35, in the Dana Newark Collection.

Chinatown Oral History: Gladys Eng Chin

Guide to the Yoland Skeete Research Files on Newark Chinatown. 12.0 linear feet. "This collection contains the research files of Yoland Skeete who compiled a wide range of materials as part of the Newark Chinatown History project presented by the Sumei Multidisciplinary Art Center. Skeete's files include Chinese immigrant files, photographs, audio and video tapes, oral histories, T-shirts, newspaper articles on the New Jersey Chinese community, primary and secondary sources related to Newark Chinatown history, and marketing materials. It also contains manuscripts and correspondence related to Skeete's research." Collection in the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archive at New York University.

From the Sumei Multidisciplinary Arts Center website:

In 2000, Sumei received a grant from NJPAC - Mellon Fund to begin research on the Newark Chinatown history. The following year a grant from The Council on the Humanities was received to continue research and documentation of the history of this community. During the following years this project grew with Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation support and Sumei commissioned the Chinese artist Ye Xun to produce models of what the old Chinatown looked like. Artist Ye Xun worked for one year to produce one side of the Mulberry Street area and then, with the help of another Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation grant, the following year he created the second side of the Chinatown street. This work and the artist's records and research have become a part of the archive of Newark Chinatown...Sumei has created a permanent exhibit of the history, research, and artifacts of Newark Chinatown.