Books (Electronic Reference Sources)

The full text of more than 250 Cambridge history volumes including The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism and other volumes relating to literary studies.

Literary history and criticism with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama, and essays to history, theology, and political writing. Encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writing, such as Yiddish and Creole.

Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.

Includes basic information about the books reviewed, a review and recommendation (or warning), a summary of reviews from the media, links to reviews available on the Internet, links to other relevant sites, suggestions as to similar books which might be of interest, and basic information about the author.

Searchable database of author biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.

Includes "entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism."

The Criticism section of the site includes both scholarly articles and reviews.

A directory of thousands of free summaries, literature notes, and study guides for books, plays, and poems.

Describes print and electronic reference sources. Replaces the standard reference bibliography Guide to Reference Books.

"Reviews of new reference materials, prepared by librarians for librarians."