Specialized Reference Sources
This is the "Home" page of the "Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion  

All aspects of Religion, including major belief systems.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/religion Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles

** ATLA Religion Database. (1949+).
The best starting place for articles about Religion. Contains bibliographic records covering the research literature, including articles and book reviews, about religion in 26 languages. Includes some full-text articles.

Academic Search Premier.
A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions, covering many journals in religion and theology, but also useful for interdisciplinary studies. Full-text coverage mostly begins around 1996.

L'Annee Philologique. (1959+)
The primary database for classical studies and information on ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage includes Judaism and Early Christianity, Greek and Roman religion, and religions of the Near East in the classical period. Coverage includes articles in the modern European languages.

Anthropology Plus. (Late 19th Century to the Present)
A good source for anthropological approaches to religion, from prehistoric to the contemporary scene.

JSTOR.
Provides electronic access to back runs of journals, including areas like philosophy, classical studies, and history related to Religion.

Philosopher's Index. (1940+)
Useful for coverage of the philosophy of religion, religion and ethics, and other topics at the intersection of religion and philosophy.

PsycINFO. (1872+)
Covers the psychology of belief and religious practice.

Sociological Abstracts. (1963+)
Useful for coverage of the sociology of religion and religion & science.

 

Full-Text Resources

Cambridge Histories Online: Religious Studies Collection. [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Each volume of the Cambridge Histories includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies. The Religion Collection contains 4 titles covering topics the Bible, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam from Antiquity to the present.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
A searchable collection of works published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1800. Categories of works include catechisms, liturgical books, prayer books, and sermons, including works of Cotton Mather and Jonathan Edwards.

Early English Books Online (EEBO), 1473-1700
A collection of books, pamphlets, periodicals, and other sources published in England or in the English language during a period that includes the Protestant Reformation. Included are English translations of the Bible, sermons, theological tracts, and polemical works. Researchers can view images of the original pages, and search some texts by key word.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A vast collection of books published during the 18th Century in England or in the English language. Searchable by author, title, and words in the texts. A treasure trove of bibles, translations of the Koran, encounters with Eastern Religions, sermons, theological tracts, defenses of and attacks on religion.

Patrologia Latina
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, containing Latin Christian texts to the beginning of the thirteenth century.

Patrologiæ Græcæ
Compiled by J. P. Migne in the 19th century, contains Greek theological materials with Latin translations from the beginnings of Christianity through the Council of Florence in 1439.

 

Reference Resources

General Research Guides

Virtual Religion Index
This comprehensive guide from Rutgers University's Religion Department covers most religions, as well as the psychology and sociology of religion.

Internet guides to major faiths include the following:

Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory

Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library

Hindu Universe

Islamic Studies, Islam, Arabic, and Religion

Virtual Christianity

Specialized Resources

Bible Gateway

Hadith Collection

Jesus Seminar Forum

Electronic Reference Books

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Articles on qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and related material, with longer essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Encyclopaedia Judaica [Rutgers Restricted Access]
An electronic version of the 2007 edition of the 22 volume encyclopedia of Jewish life and thought. The encyclopedia features entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by specialists.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism [Rutgers Restricted Access] Describes the Buddhist world view, teachings and practices, as well as schools and sects. Also covered are Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, ceremonies, es well as the history of Buddhism and its blending with other religions.


Selected Print Resources

Atlas of the World's Religions.
ALEXANDER, DANA, and CAMDEN REF. G1046.E4A75 1999.

Encyclopedia of Religion
. 2nd edition.
ALEXANDER REF. BL31.E46 2005. 15 volumes.

Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics
.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF. BL31.E34. 13 volumes.

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN & DOUGLASS REF. BL458.E53 1999. 2 volumes.

World History Librarian

 

New Titles Religion

 

Rutgers Religion Department

 

New Brunswick Theological Seminary Library

 

Princeton Seminary Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip