Government Resources
A quick overview of the business environment in your city, county or state can be found at QuickFacts from the US Census Bureau. How to search video
Current numbers for both the County Business Patterns and the Nonemployer Statistics are now part of the https://data.census.gov website. How-To Video (Silent)
Past data for the number of establishments with employees in each industry, broken down by employee size, may be found in County Business Patterns (organized by NAICS).
Past data for businesses without employees run by the self-employed are located at the Nonemployer Statistics for states, metro areas, and counties (also organized by NAICS).
Company Database
The Reference Solutions database at JerseyClicks includes a directory of more than 14 million U.S. businesses. Click on the database link and enter your local public library card number. Use Reference Solutions to find basic information about one company, or to find companies in an industry or in a particular city. It will also provide information on employees, sales, product lines, parent/affiliate/subsidiary companies, and key personnel. [http://www.jerseyclicks.org]
Reference Solutions: Quick Search
Reference Solutions: Advanced Search
You can also consult these videos to discover sample search strategies and learn more about the features of Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA).
Online Directories
These two directories focus on specific industries or products:
- IndustryNet
[http://www.industrynet.com] - ThomasNet
[http://www.thomasnet.com]
More generally, these two directories allow searching by geography and by yellow pages business categories:
- SuperPages.com (allows searching with maps)
[http://www.superpages.com] - Whitepages (10 million businesses, includes maps and directions)
[http://www.whitepages.com]
You can also search by selected occupations for licensed practitioners in New Jersey:
- Division of Consumer Affairs: License Verification System
[https://newjersey.mylicense.com/verification/]
Chambers of Commerce:
- New Jersey Chamber of Commerce Directory has links to most Chambers of Commerce in the state.
[http://www.2chambers.com/new6.htm]
Not-for-Profit Organizations:
- Nonprofit Organization Lookup
[http://www.melissadata.com/lookups/np.asp] - Charity Navigator -- Rates charities on their financial efficiency as well as their accountability. Includes historical data. [https://www.charitynavigator.org/]
- GuideStar (Candid) -- Freemium. Sign up for a free account to obtain basic information. [https://www.guidestar.org/]