This is the "Tracts & Block Data" page of the "Census Resources - Federal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A brief guide to Federal census data.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/uscensus Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Tracts & Block Data Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

History

For a general history of Census Tracts and Block Numbering Areas visit the Census Bureau - History site.

 

1960 New Jersey

PHC(1): Census Tracts

Location of Volumes
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area (DOCUSR Stack 101), with the exception of the Newark Census Tract, which is located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ; Atlantic City; Jersey City; Middlesex Co.; Newark; Paterson-Clifton-Passaic; Philadelphia, PA-NJ; Somerset Co.; Trenton; Wilmington, DE-NJ

Location of Maps
Kept inside volumes

HC(3): City Blocks

Location of Volumes
Red books located in the main Census Area (DOCUSR Stack 104).

Coverage
Atlantic City; Bayonne; Camden; Clifton; East Orange; Edison Township; Elizabeth; Englewood; Irvington; Jersey City; Kearney; Montclair; Newark; North Arlington; Passaic; Paterson; Trenton; Union City

Location of Maps
Kept in pockets of each block statistics volume

 

1970 New Jersey

PHC(1): Census Tracts

Location of Volumes
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area (DOCUSR Stacks 101-102), with the exception of the Newark Census Tract and a volume featuring non-SMSA areas, which are located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ; Atlantic City; Jersey City; Newark (includes New Brunswick); Paterson-Clifton-Passaic; Philadelphia, PA-NJ; Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton; Wilmington, DE-NJ

Location of Maps
Kept inside volumes

HC(3): Block Statistics

Location of Volumes
NJ volumes located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

Coverage
Atlantic City; Trenton; Vineland-Millville; New York-Northeastern NJ; Plus a volume called Selected Areas-NJ

Location of Maps
Located with volumes

 

1980 New Jersey

PHC80-2: Census Tracts

Location of Volumes
NJ volumes located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ; Atlantic City; Jersey City; Long Branch-Asbury Park; New Brunswick-Perth Amboy-Sayreville; New York, NY-NJ; Newark; Paterson-Clifton-Passaic; Philadelphia, PA-NJ; Trenton; Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton; Wilmington, DE-NJ-MD; Plus a volume called Selected Areas-NJ

Location of Maps
Located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

PHC80-1 Block Statistics

Location of Volumes
NJ volumes in microfiche located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

Coverage
Atlantic City, Jersey City, Long Branch, New Brunswick, Newark, Paterson, Trenton, Vineland

Location of Maps
Located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

 

1990 New Jersey

CPH-3: Population and Housing Characteristics for Census Tract and Block Numbering Areas

Location of Volumes
NJ volumes located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection. Block statistics data included in census tract volumes.

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ MSA (Warren County-NJ); Atlantic City; Bergen-Passaic PMSA; Jersey City PMSA; Middlesex-Hunterdon PMSA; Monmouth-Ocean PMSA; Newark PMSA (Sec. 1 and Sec. 2); Philadelphia, PA-NJ PMSA (Burlington, Camden, Gloucester Counties, NJ) (Sec. 1, Sec. 2, and Sec. 3); Trenton PSMA; Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton PMSA; Wilmington, DE-NJ-MD PMSA

Location of Maps
Tract/BNA maps for NJ, NYC and Philadelphia are located on the NJ census shelves in the glass walled seating area adjacent to the hallway at the front of the government publications collection.

Available electronically at http://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/maps/reference.html under Census Reference Maps. 1990 maps are re-creations of the 1990 Census Tract/BNA outline maps and differ from the original 1990 Census Tract Outline Maps.

1940 and 1950 Census Tracts - All States

  • 1940 Census Tracts
    Includes digital maps for all cities tracted in 1940. Camden, Jersey City, Newark, Paterson, and Trenton are all included.
  • 1950 Census Tracts
    Includes digital maps for all cities tracted in 1950. No New Jersey cities were included.
 

1960 Beyond New Jersey

PHC(1): Census Tracts

Location of Volumes
Red books located in DOCREF STACK 101

Location of Maps
Kept in pockets of volumes

HC(3): City Blocks

Location of Volumes
Red books located in DOCREF Stack 104

Location of Maps
Kept in pockets of each block statistics volume

 

1970 Beyond New Jersey

PHC(1): Census Tracts

Location of Volumes
Blue books located in DOCREF STACK 101-102

Location of Maps
Kept inside volumes

HC(3): Block Statistics

Location of Volumes
Black books located in DOCREF STACK 104

Location of Maps
Kept in pockets of each block statistics volume

 

1980 Beyond New Jersey

PHC80-2: Census Tracts

Location of Volumes
Greyish-blue books located in DOCREF STACK 102, organized alphabetically by Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA)

Location of Maps
Census tract maps are filed in putty-colored cabinet near the end of DOCREF Stack 106. Maps are in order alphabetically by SMSA beginning in Drawer 3.

PHC80-1 Block Statistics

Location of Volumes
Located in red GPO microfiche cabinet in C 3.224/15

Location of Maps
Located in red GPO microfiche cabinet in C 3.224/15.

 

1990 Beyond New Jersey

CPH-3: Population and Housing Characteristics for Census Tract and Block Numbering Areas

Location of Volumes
Reddish-purple books in DOCREF Stack 102, Sections F-H, organized alphabetically by tract block numbering area (BNA). Block statistics data included in census tract volumes.

See also manila folder at end of volume range to identify metropolitan areas covered by ASI

Location of Maps
See ASI Microfiche Collection 1993 under #2551.10-#2551.58 Located in putty-colored file cabinet in DOCREF just beyond Stack 105

Available electronically at http://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/maps/reference.html under Census Reference Maps. 1990 maps are re-creations of the 1990 Census Tract/BNA outline maps and differ from the original 1990 Census Tract Outline Maps.

 

2000 and 2010 - All States

Census Tracts

Available electronically through American FactFinder.

In order to view census tract data, go to the Advanced Search page. select the Geographies option at the right, and then use the Select a Geographic Type menu to choose Census Tract. To limit your data (e.g., Census 2000, Census 2010, etc.) select the Topics option and choose the relevant Datasets.

Location of Maps
Available electronically at http://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/maps/reference.html under Census Reference Maps.

Block Groups

Beginning with Census 2000, BNA (Block Numbering Area) data was eliminated and census tracts were defined nationwide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip