Research Guides: Course: 22: 390: 501 Essentials of Strategic Written Communications: Finding Articles

How to get started

When students are working on their assignments, they very often find themselves searching Google or reading a wikipedia article. There is nothing wrong using these tools to get some basic information. However, it is important to verify what you read and more importantly, seek the opinions from experts in the field. Using library databases will help you locate those articles written by professionals or scholars in the area.

Various ways to find articles

Articles +
use the Articles tab on the library homepage to search hundreds of databases simultaneously.
Business Source Premier
covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains the full-text (or abstracts) of articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
Scopus
contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences and health sciences.
Google Scholar
is freely available on the web. It covers articles related to medicine, nursing, sports psychology, business and management etc.

I can't find the article at Rutgers Libraries!

When you cannot find a full-text or PDF for an article, do not pay for the article yourself. Check out Article Delivery Service. The Interlibrary Loan office will do its best to obtain the article for you.

The service is free. It take 1-4 business days to obtain the article electronically. However, there are some exceptions. For example, we cannot obtain an industry report or a case study that is prepared by some consulting firms. Try Business Source Premier or IBISWorld for those studies. Contact a librarian if you need further assistance.