Research Guides: Mathematics Graduate Students Association Seminar: Indexes & Databases

Introduction to Online Resources

The Rutgers University Libraries offers access to hundreds of online resources. We realize that this might be a little overwhelming. To help you determine which one(s) to start with, this research guide identifies “core” and “related” indexes and databases, as well as a list of some additional resources an earth sciences student might find useful. If you are looking for a particular index or database, however, you may find it more efficient to browse our alphabetical listing of resources. Please click on the appropriate link below:

Math indexes/databases @ Rutgers

Here are 2 math indexes and databases that the Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to:

MathSciNet
 Rutgers-restricted
 1940-present
 most comprehensive
 covers international literature for mathematics & statistics
 journals, books, & proceedings
 includes Mathematical Reviews & Current Mathematical Publications
 contextual help is available within MathSciNet
 tutorials are also available: http://www.mathscinet.info/index.html
Current Index to Statistics
 Rutgers-restricted
 1975-present
 focuses on statistics & related fields
 journals, books, & proceedings

Other potentially useful indexes/databases @ Rutgers

Here are 6 indexes and databases that the Rutgers University Libraries subscribes to which mathematics students may find helpful:

DigiZeitschriften
 Rutgers-restricted
 offers the full text of German journals, a number of which are in mathematics
JSTOR
 Rutgers-restricted
 covers many disciplines, including mathematics
 full text is available for much of the scholarly journals indexed here
Scopus
 Rutgers-restricted
 covers many disciplines, including mathematics
 journals, books, proceedings, patents
 citation metrics & analysis is possible
SpringerLink
 Rutgers-restricted
 full text journal & e-book package
 includes mathematics journals & the e-books in Mathematics and Computer Science published since 2005
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes)
 Rutgers-restricted
 covers many disciplines, including mathematics
 journals, books, proceedings
 citation metrics & analysis is possible
GoogleScholar
 for efficiency in locating full text, be sure to log in through the Rutgers University Libraries Web site when off-campus
 searches across all disciplines
 journals and more

Math indexes/databases NOT @ Rutgers

Here is a math index/database that the Rutgers University Libraries does NOT subscribe to:

Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH)
 1868-present (with the integration of the “Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik” database)
 primarily covers pure & applied mathematics; secondarily covers history & philosophy of mathematics and university education
 journals, books, & proceedings

Off-campus?

It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password.