Organic Chemistry Lab 310 Fall 2014

These are all created by the company that owns Reaxys:

Please follow the instructions provided by RefWorks:

The Reaxys database integrates content from 3 major data sources (i.e., Crossfire Beilstein, Crossfire Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database), providing information in organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry.  It offers experimentally validated chemical structures, reaction and properties data, catalysts information, and a unique synthesis planner to evaluate alternative synthetic routes and identify the most effective strategy to use.  May also be referred to as Beilstein CrossFire Commander. Coverage dates: 1771-present. Unlike Scifinder, it does not require you to register prior to use. However, you may want to create your own account to take advantage of the features described below.

"Reaxys contains a huge amount of synthesis details, has a rich data set of substance properties, and includes vast literature coverage and index terms.  Ask Reaxys is designed to help you get the most out of Reaxys in a very simple way – by doing a topic search.   This new design will interpret the terms and determine the context (citations, substances, or reactions), and also makes the expanded content in Reaxys more discoverable." See these Ask Reaxys examples for details.

Reaxys is a Web-based chemistry database that provides access to information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties. Users can search for reactions, substances, and references. 

The synthesis planner is a unique tool for chemists to evaluate alternative synthetic routes, to identify and combine selected reaction steps to generate the most effective synthesis strategy.  More information about the Synthesis Planner is available here.

Reaxys provides a Java-based default structure editor. However, users who prefer to continue using the CrossFire structure editor or Symyx Draw can also be satisfied. Simply register for a user account, then set your preferred default structure editor. Each time users sign into their account, the default setting will take effect regardless of which computer they are using. For more information about external structure editors, look here.

Please see below for an example of a results page. Users can Create Alerts if they would like to see updated search results from the same search in the future.

Register for a personal user account to create alerts and change your settings:

Change the structure editor to one that you would like to use:

The Synthesis Planner is a unique tool for chemists to evaluate alternative synthetic routes, to identify and combine selected reaction steps to generate the most effective synthesis strategy.  More information about the Synthesis Planner is available here.

Synthesis Planner can help users generate synthesis plan. Several synthesis plans may be created for the same final product:

You can view molecules in 3D: